Known

Known

Hey guys and welcome back to The Faith Filled Friends. We are so glad that you have joined us today as we devote our some time to the Lord. Today, I really want to discuss a beautiful song by Tauren Wells called, “Known”. We have discussed a few of his songs before and we recommend you check him out.

Worship Wednesday

Known- Tauren Wells

‘…How real, how wide
How rich, how high is Your heart
I cannot find the reasons why
You give me so much
How real, how wide
How rich, how high is Your heart
I cannot find the reasons why
You give me so much…’

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.””

Wow. What a way to start devotion time, am I right?

We are so blessed it is incredible. I actually can’t fathom how much my God loves me. Like Tauren sings, ‘…I cannot find the reason why you give me so much…’ When we start our devotion time by looking at God with gratitude and amazement then we will find ourselves connecting and worshiping the creator of the universe.

‘…It’s so unusual it’s frightening
You see right through the mess inside me
And you call me out to pull me in
You tell me I can start again
And I don’t need to keep on hiding…’

God knows you!

We just finished a brilliant series titled, “Matter” which was about how much you mattered to God. So what is it like to be known by God? I don’t mean like your friends know you, but fully known by God.

How does it feel that someone knows all of your dirty secrets? Someone who knows all the lies, all the bad habits and even all your thoughts. Someone who hears every single word you speak. That is crazy scary! It is so unusual to remember that God knows all of this. There is nothing you can hide from God.

He will call out your sins and bring them into the light just to bring you closer to Him. So often we try to hide our sins and our shame from God. We think that if we try and do good things it will make up for the bad. God sees everything you and I do. He knows us so well.

There is a great video journal/devotion from Tenth Avenue North that I would love to share with all of you.

God sees all our sin. We can treat Him like a game and think that He is some imaginary guy in the sky. We don’t doubt that God is real, we just don’t treat Him seriously. I admit I sometimes fall into this frame of mind. It is so easy to view God as this distant guy, but He knows every part of us. He knows me better than I know myself!

‘…I’m fully known and loved by You
You won’t let go no matter what I do
And it’s not one or the other
It’s hard truth and ridiculous grace
To be known fully known and loved by You
I’m fully known and loved by You…’

To be fully known by God is frightening but it is also amazing. Even though we are so messed up He still loves us and says we matter. It is hard truth, it messes with our mind and our pride. We think we are above God and that we can hide this stuff from Him. But we can’t. He sees all of it and knows everything about us. But thank goodness it is also ridiculous, amazing grace. He loves us even in this brokenness. If your friends and family could know you like God does, they would probably be less loving to you. We are all so messed up but God forgives us from all of it.

I know you and I have tried to hide from God but it just doesn’t work. He loves us in the mess. The devil wants us to run and hide like Adam and Eve, but God knows us and will come looking for us. One day we will stand before God and we will know how evil we are and how worthy God is.

‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭6:1-5‬
“In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another:
“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.
“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.””

The moment Isaiah set His eyes upon God, he knew he was both unholy and unworthy. One day we too will stand before God and we will know how unworthy we are to be in His presence. All our sins will be brought into the light and there will be no place to hide.

We are fully known and love by God. We don’t have to fear any more because Jesus has made a way for us. His blood has touched our lips, we have been cleansed from all our sins. We know that we are loved by Him but also that He knows every part of us.

‘…It’s so like You to keep pursuing
It’s so like me to go astray
But You guard my heart with Your truth
A kind of love that’s bullet proof
And I surrender to Your kindness…’

‭‭Colossians‬ ‭3:15
“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.”‬

Isn’t it amazing that God always pursues us. In our mess and in our shame Jesus chases us. He wants what is best for us! I know that I can be at peace knowing that my God loves me, knows me and keeps pursing me. Although I may have initially been scared I know that He loves me more than anyone or anything. Our God is so good.

Philippians‬ ‭4:19‬
“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”

‘…How real, how wide
How rich, how high is Your heart
I cannot find the reasons why
You give me so much
How real, how wide
How rich, how high is Your heart
I cannot find the reasons why
You give me so much…’

How great is our God? He is amazing and so loving I actually can’t find the words. How real is our God’s love? Even though He knows our situation and shame, He still loves us. How wide and how high is our God’s love? It reaches as far as the East is from the West and it reaches all the way into hell. And how rich is God’s love? It paid for our freedom and our lives.

I am fully known by my God… And that is amazing!

Thank you Lord that we are known by you. Thank you that you care for me enough to save me and watch over me. Help to live a life for you. You are all I need.
In Jesus’ name.
Amen

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

