Here With Me

Here With Me

Hey guys and welcome back to another Faith Filled Friends devotion. I know that today is Throwback Thursday, but we have a relatively new song to share with you all today. “Here With Me” is a song written by Tim Hughes, Phil Wickham and Nick Herbert. Today we will look at the Tim Hughes version (ft. Phil Wickham) and the acoustic verse from “Children Of God: Acoustic” album. It has a hymn feel to it so I guess it fit for Throwback Thursday.

Here With Me- Tim Hughes

‘…When darkness deepens, the path unsure
The sun is hidden by the storms
I look to heaven and cry to Thee, O God be here with me…’

‘…In every breath every joy and tear
Every passing hour, let me know You’re near
In life in death for eternity
O God be here with me…’

In life we go through rough patches. We live in a fallen world, it is full of sin and that is why their is pain and suffering. But what do we do when pain and sickness strike? It is hard to praise the Lord in the storm, there is so much around that it makes it hard to focus. When we go through trials and tribulations in life we must remember to look to Jesus.

Psalm 46:1
“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”

Whether we know it or not, God is with us through all of it. That comforts some and pains others. That means God was with you when you fell, God was with you in the pain and God was with you when you lost a loved one. It is hard to know that God, the one who created everything, was with you in that time of pain. Why didn’t He do anything?! Like I said, we live in a fallen sinful world, but that is a discussion for another devotion.

Then you can see comfort in that. God was walking you through the trials and the pain. He watched you grow as you were stretched. And He loved you through all the mistakes. God holds you in the storm, He holds the storm! It can be hard to have the faith to believe that God is and was with you through your life but one day you and I will see.

‘…When faith is shaken, when fears surround
My feet will stand on solid ground
In every season, my song will be
O God be here with me…’

‘…And in that moment we’re face to face
I will not need these eyes of faith
Forever after God I will see
That You’ve always been with me
Oh You’ve always been with me…’

We will face God one day when our time on Earth is done. We will not need faith to see all that God has done. It will be a beautiful day for all of us that loved and believed in the Lord, Jesus Christ.

Isaiah 43:2
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

God is always with us. He guides us and protects us. And that is why we believe in Jeremiah 29:11, The Faith Filled Friends’ founding scripture!

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

Leave a Reply

