The MIND

The Mind

Hey guys and welcome back to The Faith Filled Friends. Today’s devotion will be based out of Romans 12 and will be about your MIND. I had planned this for the Message Monday this week but after it got deleted I had to postpone to today. So let’s read this beautiful scripture.

Romans 12:2
“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what Godʼs will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

This is a great verse and I have really loved it all my life. It was one of those bible verses you knew by the time you were two. But recently, since I got Colton Dixon’s latest album, “Identity” I have been hearing it so frequently. I heard it at youth, at church, at a kids church meeting, at a youth meeting, in my devotional book, on the radio, I opened my bible to it the other day and I always hear “THE MIND” on shuffle (that instrumental from the “Identity” album is where it all began!). So I believe that God is saying something, loud and clear. And today I will be unpacking it.

I will focus main on the first part of the verse. “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

It is so easy to conform to society. We do it all the time. I know that after I hang out with my friends for a long time, I start talking like them. We all use the same slang words and terms, we understand each other. But this can be a bad thing. If you let your friends influence you soon you can start behaving like them. You adopt their worldly talk (like swearing), you can start looking down on others and start judging, you might even start going to the wrong parties. Soon you will be like the world if that is all you know.

We can be renewed by Jesus who washes us clean. He can reset our minds to think of things that are lovely and pure. But how does our mind change?

When bad stuff comes in, bad stuff comes out. If you watch bad stuff on TV then your mind takes it in. If you play aggressive or violent games you may find yourself grumpy or snappy after you switch it off. If you listen to swearing, worldly songs or radio that speaks negatively, then you may become like that.

When we set our minds on Jesus and who He is then our minds are refreshed. He takes all the junk away and replaces it with things that are pure.

So when you are with your friends, be the Jesus influence. We have to make choices in life and if you play games or watch TV that could be harmful or is negative, then make the choices to switch it off and find something new.

The Faith Filled Friends was founded on Jesus, Friends and Christian Music. We decided that we wanted to share the great Christian songs and the messages that they hold with more people. There is so much goodness in this world that God has given us so that we might be renewed in His word and His love. Set your mind in things that are pure and lovely. Spend time with God so that He may make you new. And read the bible because that is the word of God.

1 Peter‬ ‭2:11-12‬
“Dear friends, I urge you, as foreigners and exiles, to abstain from sinful desires, which wage war against your soul. Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.”

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “The MIND

  1. The story behind how it got deleted is a sad one.

    So when I write devotions on my phone, I write them in notepad first so I can read through and I don’t have Internet issues. Then I copy and paste it into a new post here and then post it.

    So as I went to copy it, I selected all, then accidentally clicked paste instead of copy and then pasted the devotion from Sunday! AND THERE IS NO UNDO IN NOTEPAD!!!

    So now I don’t use notepad!

    Ha ha. Na, I hope you enjoyed it today!

    God Bless

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Like

Leave a Reply

