Sunday Sessions: Death

Death

Hey guys and welcome to The Faith Filled Friends for our Sunday Sessions devotion. So you might be a little hesitant after reading that title, and it is understandable. I have had “death” on my mind for quite awhile now. I am not saying that God is going to take me home soon, but I know that when He is ready to take me, then I’ll be ready. And that is what I want to discuss with you today. The valley of the shadow of death! So let’s get onto this.

Sunday Sessions

Life Is Sweeter- The Afters

You can look at almost any album that The Afters have made and you will find a song that talks about this life and what comes at the end. It is quite a beautiful thing if you think about it. “Life Is Sweeter” reminds us that we don’t need to morn or worry for lost ones because life is so much more incredible on the other side, in the presence of God.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-14
Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope. For we believe that Jesus died and rose again, and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him.

So why have my thoughts on death been so important? Well it has allowed me to be sincere and honest. I have asked myself the question, “What if today was your last day?” It is a beautiful if you think about it. I went through all the different ways I would tackle that last day. But the truth is… This could be my last day! Maybe I said something mean or I got angry or didn’t say that I loved my family and that is not how I want to die. I would want to make things right with everyone, so why don’t I do this? It could have been my last day yesterday, but I didn’t go around showings love and living completely unashamed. I still made mistakes and didn’t tell all the ones I love that I loved them.

It has been the question on my heart and I wanted to share it with you. “What if today was your last day?” It has been an eye opener, and I have started to make some changes. I want to spend more time with my family and make things right. I want to start living with sincerity, meaning everything I say. I don’t want to hold onto grudges anymore. And before I go, I would tell everyone that Jesus is the hope and the life.

So why didn’t I do it today or yesterday? I could have died in my sleep or on my way to church. I would have never got to live with my whole heart! This is my message for this session. Live like you have nothing to prove, nothing to lose and everything to gain! Life is sweeter on the other side, with new colours and wonders beyond our comprehension. I don’t have to worry about death, but rather, how short my life is. Because that is scary.

John 11:25-26
Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

Jesus gives us life and He has already paid for our eternity. He has paid for every person on this planet, and I want every person to know. But fears get in the way and we hold back. But God has been calling me to live life to the full and share His love in every minute. It will be hard to do, but just remember that life is short and God is coming back soon.

Live On Forever- The Afters

Another beautiful song by The Afters. I encourage you to read the lyrics to this absolutely God inspired song.

So is there anything that you forgot to say or do? Is there something you need to get right, right now? Do it and start living like it is your last day. There will be no regrets.

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “Sunday Sessions: Death

Comments are closed.