Hope In Christ Alone

Hope In God

Hey guys and welcome to Throwback Thursday. Today’s devotion will be a ‘devotion’ and it won’t be as long as normal but it doesn’t mean it won’t be as powerful. So, let’s jump back to something a little more classic, and I am sure everyone knows this one… “In Christ Alone”. We will be looking at the Owl City cover, which is amazing.

In Christ Alone- Owl City

‘…In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm…’

We find our hope on the wrong places, and we do this all the time. We place our hope in our job and our finances, we can place our hope in our school results or we can even place our hopes in ourselves.

We have discussed hope a lot on The Faith Filled Friends but it is so important. Hope is what keeps us alive. We see so many people take their lives because they don’t have any hope or their hopes were shattered. When we look at the cross we see hope. And for King & Country said it so well. We should be grateful for that sinner on the cross next to Jesus. Lets elaborate!

That sinner on the cross next to Jesus had done wrong, enough wrong to get him crucified! But he looks at Jesus and believes, in that moment, that He is the saviour, the Lord. He asked Jesus there, hanging on a cross, if He would remember him and forgive him when He reaches heaven. And in all that agony and pain, Jesus looks at him and tells the sinner that he will be in heaven that day.

That sinner had not lived a perfect life following Jesus. He did not give to the poor or tithe or pray but Jesus saw his heart and saw his belief and in that moment the sinner was accepted into heaven. Jesus’ death is the reason we have hope. We just need to accept that He loved us and die to forgive us, and you too will be accepted into heaven with joy and praise!

‘…What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand…’

Jesus came and died on the cross for our sins… What greater love is there? The creator who was mocked by His own creations decided to step down into the world He created to be beaten and killed to make a way for us to get into heaven. He didn’t want heaven without us and came to bring us with Him. There is no fear, no anxiety and no pain in the presence of the Lord. To stand in the love of Christ is all we need.

‘…There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave He rose again
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me
For I am His and He is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ…’

Jesus came and died, but the best part is that He rose to life again holding freedom and the presence of God in His hands. Freedom and love was given to everyone who believes and accepts it and the Holy Spirit was sent out into those Christians to help them fight the good fight. We were bought with Jesus’ blood and not we have freedom.

Psalm 3:2-6 –Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.” But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. I call out to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain. I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me. I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.

1 Peter 5:7– Cast all your worries on God, because He cares for you.

And of course, one of my favourites:

Psalms 147:11
The LORD delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.

Remember, that when your hope is in Jesus’ you can never fail!

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “Hope In Christ Alone

Comments are closed.