Shoulders

Shoulders

Psalm 121:1-2  I look up to the mountains; does my strength come from the mountains? No, my strength comes from God, who made heaven, and earth, and mountains.

Hey and welcome to The Faith Filled Friends. Today we are diving back into the pressure devotions to help you with the pressures of exams and work. Today we will be looking at one of my favourite songs, “Shoulders” by for King & Country.

Shoulders- for King & Country

Where do you find your help and your strength when times get tough? Some people ask a friend, others seclude themselves and others look to something bigger, like mountains. But your strength is not found in the mountains or in the outskirts of space, but it is found in the one true God. The maker, the divine creator. God gives us strength when we fall and grace so that when we do fall it doesn’t keep us down.

‘…When confusion’s my companion
And despair holds me for ransom
I will feel no fear
I know that You are near…’

‘…When I’m caught deep in the valley
With chaos for my company
I’ll find my comfort here
‘Cause I know that You are near…’

Pain and fear fill the earth and people try everything they can to make the most of their lives. They indulge in sin and they try things that are so far away from God. But even Christians face these trials. Exams are a great example of a trial that we face and it causes a lot of people to fear. But in the hardships and in the challenges we can have peace because we know that God is with us in that place.

Deuteronomy 31:8
The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.

God is with you on the hills and deep in the valleys. He walks besides you and goes before you. He won’t let you face a challenge that you aren’t strong enough to overcome. The same power that rose Jesus from the grave lives in us. We don’t have to be afraid for Jesus has made a way.

Psalm 23:4
Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

‘…My help comes from You
You’re right here, pulling me through
You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders
Your shoulders
My help comes from You
You are my rest, my rescue
I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders
Your shoulders…’

Deuteronomy 31:6
Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.

This is fantastic song that reminds us that God carries us through our pain and our trials. If you need someone to talk to, just let us know and we will be happy to help. You can check out more in the “Prayer” section. But isn’t God amazing? Even in the pain and in the doubt, He still loves us and carries us. He gives us hope and peace in our trials and that is a miracle.

John 14:27
Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “Shoulders

Comments are closed.