Philippians 3:8- The Worth of Knowing Christ

I hope you are all having a fantastic evening! I want to share this wonderful verse with you all tonight. It has become one of my favourites in recent months and I can recall times when I have referred to it in devotions. Knowing God and being in a relationship with Him cannot compare to anything in this world, as this verse shows.

Philippians 3:8 What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ

If you ask people what the most important thing is in their life, most will not say God. As sad as it is, people value the things of the world so much more than God. Despite these material things only being temporary and Jesus being forever! I love how Paul says “I consider them garbage”. It shows just how worthless these things are when compared to a relationship with Christ. They are nothing!

I know that if I didn’t know God, my life would be full of chasing after things that in the end wouldn’t leave me with any lasting value. Everything we can count as loss when we compare it to knowing Christ. When we follow Jesus, we have to be prepared to make sacrifices and to give up things that we may have loved. They can easily distract us from living our lives completely for God. We can lose these things with the confidence that we are gaining a relationship with Christ. The worth of this relationship is incomparable.

Matthew 16:26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?

God Bless everyone,

Josh Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

2 thoughts on “Philippians 3:8- The Worth of Knowing Christ

Comments are closed.