Everything

All I Have

Hey guys and welcome back to another Faith Filled Friends devotion. I just want to say that this whole experience has been amazing. We are all grateful for the opportunity to write devotions for you and to glorify God. Today, I want to take a look at the amazing song by Stars Go Dim, “All I Have”. It is a beautiful song that helps remind me of what I have.

All I Have- Stars Go Dim

Today I was having a time of devotion with God. I sat up on a hill and looked over a beautiful lake. The sun glistened on the water and the wind blew gently against my face. The birds flew across the sparkling waters and the trees swayed slowly. It was quiet and peaceful and I knew that God was right there with me. He was speaking to my heart and reminding me of all that He has done.

Our God is magnificent. He is the divine creator who spoke all of existence into being. So often we forget that God has blessed us so much. We are constantly wanting the latest things, gadgets and all the coolest items. When we don’t have the latest things we begin to save and strive for that thing. Our focus is fixed on that item.

I find myself wrapped in wants everyday. I will hear a new song and think, “Man I want to get that album.” I can see a new movie is in cinemas and think to myself, “Wow I need to see that.” Before we can realise, we are longing for something else. As humans, we want what we can’t have or what we don’t have. That is the first sin. Adam and Eve wanted something they could not have and they disobeyed God to get it.

But when we stop and slow down for one moment we realise what we have been given. Our God has blessed us so much. We have families, friends and if you are reading this then you must have internet and some electronic device! I have a house, a bed, a loving family, great friends, an education, a car, a job, I live in the most beautiful country (Yeah… Perth, Western Australia!) and I have my life.

I think about what Jesus did for me and it blows my mind. He can to Earth as a man to live the perfect life we never could. He was beaten and broken for me, and ended up hanging on a tree. Killed by the people He came to save. The same people that turned from Him and disobeyed His every command. He died for them so that they could live forever with Him! It makes no sense. I would die just so I would never have to see them again. We ran away from Him, He came to save us and we killed Him. Why should we get to live with Him for eternity? It’s called AMAZING GRACE!

1 John 3:1- See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

1 John 3:16-17- This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters. If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person?

All we have is in God. This world has nothing for us. When we die we do not take any of our possessions with us, only our actions and our love.

‘…Help me to be part satisfied from all, I see I wanna build my life on the only one I need, Empty my hands of all of my riches, You are worth more than all my Successes, You’re the only thing I want to hold onto…’

These words are easy to sing, but much harder to say with your heart. God is all we need, so why is it so hard to give Him our everything?

‘…Let it all fade away, These temporary gains, Cause you’re the greatest prize, the one that never fades, So empty my hands of all of my treasures, You are worth more than all my possessions, You’re the only thing I want to hold onto…’

Just remember why Jesus came. Just remember that He is all you need. His love makes you new so accept this Amazing Grace.

John 3:16- For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

