Lift It Up

Hey Everyone, I hope you are all going well. Tonight I want to share a great song with you all from City Harbour called ‘Lift It Up’. I have been enjoying this song a lot recently and I hope you do too. It reminds us to give our cares, our worries and everything on our hearts to God, because He cares for us. We can lift them up to God with the confidence that He is in control.

 

Why did it happen
Where do I go now
Can’t see the next step
Don’t know the way out
I’ve got the questions
Don’t have the answers
My mind won’t slow down
Keeps going faster

I’ve been holding on
Trying to take control
What I really need
Is to let it go

And lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Where I’ve been, Where I am
Where I’m going to
Gonna open my hands and watch You move
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You

How many times God
Have you been faithful
I know you’re right here
I know you’re able
You’ve got a plan God
You’re timing’s perfect
Even in the darkness
I know You’re working

I’ve been holding on
Trying to take control
What I really need
Is to let it go

And lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Where I’ve been, Where I am
Where I’m going to
Gonna open my hands and watch You move
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You

Every breath, every step, every heartbeat
Every hope, every fear, all at Your feet
All I am, all I have, help me lay it down

I’ve been holding on
Trying to take control
What I really need
Is to let it go

Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Where I’ve been, Where I am
Where I’m going to
Gonna open my hands and watch You move

Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Where I’ve been, Where I am
Where I’m going to
Gonna open my hands and watch You move
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
I’ll lift it up to You

I’ve been holding on

Trying to take control
What I really need
Is to let it go

And lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Where I’ve been, Where I am
Where I’m going to
Gonna open my hands and watch You move
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You
Lift it up, lift it up
Lift it up to You

So often in our lives we want control. We panic when things seem to be beyond us and we like it when things are comfortable. The reality is, so many things in life aren’t in our control! We can get worried and stressed, but more often than not there is very little we can do to fix it. We might be trying to plan out the ideal ‘life plan’ for ourselves. To get a degree, get a job, find a husband or wife and get married, buy a house and start a family. A plan like that sounds fantastic and certainly ideal, until it doesn’t work out how you planned it. With all the worries and struggles life brings, it might seem like control is slipping through our hands. As Christians, we don’t have to concern ourselves if we feel like things are falling apart, because God is ALWAYS in control.

Proverbs 19:21 Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.

He never fails and He holds it all. The whole world is in His hands. When we feel like we should be in control, what we should really do is take our hands off our life and give God full control. He is not only our Saviour, but also the Lord of our lives.

I encourage all of us to open our hands and give every aspect of our lives to God. Whether you are thinking about what your future holds or who you are going to marry, or whether you are concerned about the health of a friend or family member, give it to God. He doesn’t want us to be burdened by worries and stresses when He calls us to give them to him.

 Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Let’s lift up everything to God, all our plans, concerns and doubts and watch God work. We experience an amazing sense of peace when we lift things up to God. We no longer have to shoulder these things ourselves, but they are safe in His care. We are precious to God and our lives are in His hands, so let’s lift everything up to Him in prayer and give Him control of our lives.

Philippians 4:6-7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

God Bless,

Josh Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

2 thoughts on “Lift It Up

  1. I love this song! City Harbor made some great songs but it’s a pity it didn’t last long. I would have loved to hear more.

    This was a great devotion as usual Josh! Thanks for sharing with us!

    Like

Comments are closed.