God Alone Satisfies

Hey Everyone, I hope you are all going well. I want to talk about how we can find total fulfilment and satisfaction in God today. We had a message at church yesterday based on Psalm 73, which talks about having a pure desire for God.

Psalm 73

A psalm of Asaph.

 Surely God is good to Israel,
    to those who are pure in heart.

 But as for me, my feet had almost slipped;
    I had nearly lost my foothold.
 For I envied the arrogant
    when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.

 They have no struggles;
    their bodies are healthy and strong. They are free from common human burdens;
    they are not plagued by human ills.
 Therefore pride is their necklace;
    they clothe themselves with violence.
From their callous hearts comes iniquity
    their evil imaginations have no limits.
They scoff, and speak with malice;
    with arrogance they threaten oppression.
 Their mouths lay claim to heaven,
    and their tongues take possession of the earth.
 Therefore their people turn to them
    and drink up waters in abundance.
 They say, “How would God know?
    Does the Most High know anything?”

 This is what the wicked are like—
    always free of care, they go on amassing wealth.

 Surely in vain I have kept my heart pure
    and have washed my hands in innocence.
 All day long I have been afflicted,
    and every morning brings new punishments.

 If I had spoken out like that,
    I would have betrayed your children.
 When I tried to understand all this,
    it troubled me deeply
 till I entered the sanctuary of God;
    then I understood their final destiny.

 Surely you place them on slippery ground;
    you cast them down to ruin.
 How suddenly are they destroyed,
    completely swept away by terrors!
 They are like a dream when one awakes;
    when you arise, Lord,
    you will despise them as fantasies.

When my heart was grieved

    and my spirit embittered,
 I was senseless and ignorant;
    I was a brute beast before you.

Yet I am always with you;
    you hold me by my right hand.
 You guide me with your counsel,
    and afterward you will take me into glory.
 Whom have I in heaven but you?
    And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
    but God is the strength of my heart
    and my portion forever.

 Those who are far from you will perish;
    you destroy all who are unfaithful to you.
 But as for me, it is good to be near God.
    I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge;
    I will tell of all your deeds.

Asaph, the Psalmist says his feet had almost slipped. He had almost lost His desire for God because He had seen the prosperity of the wicked and desired it for himself. It is not until later in the Psalm that Asaph says; “ till I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood their final destiny. When he sees what the wicked are destined for, He is reminded that God is what we should desire, rather than the prosperity of the wicked. Although the wicked and those who do not know God may appear to ‘have it all’ in this life, they are only living for the ‘now’ in this world. As Christians, we should set our thoughts on things of Heaven, because that is our final destiny. Heaven is our home, not earth. Living a life focused on eternity doesn’t mean we have to live with no pleasures or excitement, it just means our focus and priority should be on God and eternity with Him. 

Colossians 3:2 Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things

Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also

The satisfaction that comes from knowing God is the only thing is this world that can satisfy us completely. All the treasures on earth might be great for a while, but eventually they will fade away and just leave us wanting more. God is the one thing we need. Those who reject God and decide to live for themselves choose to gain the world and lose their souls. In the end, they are giving up what is so much more important and valuable for the temporary pleasures and desires this world gives us.

The joy it is to know God as our Lord and Saviour is so much greater than anything this world can give us. The lives of the wicked, who choose to live in sin may look good from the outside, but they are missing the one thing that can fully satisfy them. They are living with a vacant space in their lives that can only be filled by God.

May we live lives full of thankfulness and joy knowing that we have the one and only thing that can satisfy us in our lives.

Heavenly Father, I thank you that nothing is this world can give fulfilment like a relationship with you can. So many people choose to be rich in the pleasures of this world but choose to lose their souls. I thank you that we have a hope that is secure with you, that is so much greater than the things of this world. May we desire you above everything else Lord. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Matthew 16:26 What good will it be for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul? Or what can anyone give in exchange for their soul?

Philippians 3:8 What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ

God Bless,

Josh Clarke The Faith Filled Friends

