The Power Of Our Testimony

Hey Everyone, I really hope you are having a great week so far. For today’s devotion, I want to start with some lyrics from the Big Daddy Weave Song ‘My Story’.

“Oh to tell you my story is to tell
of the grace that is greater than all my sin”

These lyrics speak the truth of the gospel and talk about our story. What is ‘our story’? Everyone who is trusting in God as their Lord and Saviour has a story. It is our personal witness of how God has brought us to Him and saved us. Last night at our young adults bible study we were talking about our testimonies. We are doing a series at church at the moment called ‘Just Start Talking’. It is all about evangelism and how we can share the gospel with others, just by starting a conversation. This week, the focus was on our testimony and how we can use it to talk to others about Jesus.

Your story is an amazing thing. It is living proof of how God has worked in your life to save you from the punishment of sin. When people have the opportunity to hear about how God has changed your life, its something they can’t dispute. People may not agree with what you say, but they can’t discount it because it’s true! Some people have incredibly dramatic testimonies about how their life was and how it changed because of Jesus. Yet, other people will have vastly different stories. God saved me when I was five years old and having grown up in a christian home, Mum and Dad had taught me from the bible and I had attended Sunday school. However, it was not until God convicted me of my sin, even though I was young, that I knew I wanted to put my trust in Him. It has always amazed how even though I was young, I was still able to understand the gospel and my need for God’s salvation. You can never be too young for the gospel.

We can tell people about their sin and their need for God’s free gift of salvation, but they can easily dismiss it. Like I said before, when we speak from our personal experience of how God has saved us, people can’t argue with that! There is nothing stronger than your personal experience of God in your life. I know that whenever I hear other people’s testimonies before they are baptised it always is such an encouragement to me. It is wonderful to be reminded of God’s grace and how it can save anyone. No matter who you are or what you’ve done, you can never be too far gone for God’s grace!

We can never forget how God has worked in our life. We should seek to take opportunities to share our story with those around us, Christian and non-Christian. Even if it’s with another Christian friend, sharing your stories with one another is a wonderful to encourage and remind each other of the power of the gospel. I pray we will be thankful for the way God has saved us. We all have a different story to share, yet at the end of it, we can say our lives will never be the same again because of God’s grace. Even though we are sharing our story, the focus is really on God and what He has done in our life.

I pray we will all have the opportunity to share the story of how God has changed our lives because of His grace. Our testimonies are powerful and they point straight to God. To talk about how God has changed our lives is a privilege and it is something we should thank God for.

Psalm 107:2 Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story—those he redeemed from the hand of the foe.

1 John 5:11 And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.

I thank you Father for the stories each of us have about how you have saved us. I praise you for what you have done for us that makes us righteous in your eyes. It’s all about you Lord and I pray we can point to you when we are given the opportunity to share our story. I pray you will give us the courage to talk about how you have worked in our lives. Thank you for your love and your gift of grace to us. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

3 thoughts on “The Power Of Our Testimony

Comments are closed.