Scripture Saturday

Love and Obey

Good evening guys! We are back again with another verse for Scripture Saturday. I apologise in advance for it being a short devotion. I pray that God can teach us and wake up our hearts through these scriptures. But thanks again for joining us! Let’s, jump in then!

‭‭John‬ ‭14:23‬
“Jesus replied, “Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them.”

Jesus has told us what love is. It involves obedience. I know it may make you upset, but remember who showed true love on a cross. Jesus knows what love is! If we love God we will seek wisdom in Him by following His words and obeying His commands.

Our God is a loving and gracious God. We won’t always obey His words… We won’t! We are human, sinners. Our lives are the result of disobedience. God said to Adam and Eve that they could eat from all the trees except one… And they ate from that one!

We mess up and we are not perfect, only Jesus is. But if we love God and fix our eyes on Jesus, we will find strength to live a live that God has called us to live. We will do the impossible and achieve greatness, just like Peter. When he fixed His eyes upon Jesus, he walked on water! That’s hectic. We can do incredible things as well. We have God dwelling within us. His love never stops chasing us. He wants us to reach our full potential. He calls us to love and obey His commands because that is how we can live out a life that He has planned for us!

He has made His home in us, calling us His children. We are so blessed.

1 John 3:1
See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

God’s love overcomes all our doubts, our insecurities our fears and all our failures. Let’s look to the cross and live out the life He has planned for us (Jer 29:11). Lets obey His word and trust in Him.

God we give you our lives. I want more of you and less of me! You are my one desire and you are my only hope. Today I give my life back to you. I want to trust in you and love for you for all the days of my life. You are my everything. Come near to me again. Flood my life with you love.
I love you Jesus.
Amen.

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

