We Lift You High

Higher

Good evening guys. We are back once again with another devotion for you all. I will try to keep this as short as possible but there will be no promises.

So I have just started at university and I have spent all of three days at there and I love it! What defines uni for me? “Welcome to Daylight”, “Live On Forever” and “Britt Nicole”. You probably thought I was naming songs but as you can see from the third title, I am in fact talking about albums. I have just got onto the second half of the “Britt Nicole” album (yes, very slow!) and I just started listening to “Live On Forever”. So far they have captured the essence of university for me! But today we are talking about Unspoken’s single, “Higher”.

Higher- Unspoken

We need to lift Jesus’ name up high. High above our situations or our problems. Our life should glorify Him in all we do. Let the joy of the Lord overflow into the world around us. At university I have a two our break and I go for a walk and listen to my music! This time is important as we can so often forget who God is! We can lift Him high if we keep pushing Him aside.

Psalm 105:1
Give praise to the Lord, proclaim his name; make known among the nations what he has done.

Josh used this verse in his “Let It Be Known” devotion the other day. I believe that in this day and age we often praise things other than God. Our new phone, our cool shoes, our car, our clothes, who we are friends with and all sorts of messed up stuff. This message of praise to God needs to be heard because all of us here at The Faith Filled Friends believe that God is speaking this.

‘I gotta try to do right when life’s doing me wrong
Gotta shake the dust off my feet and keep marchin’ on
When trouble weighs me down, brings me to my knees
Lord, my needs are many, but that’s a pretty
Yeah, a pretty good place to be…’

The opening verse of “Higher” and it is hitting hard already! It can be hard to lift God up when things aren’t going right, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t lift Him up. We may feel like we have a lot of needs or problems but that is truly a good place to be. We seek God more in the hard times, let’s be honest. We look for strength in Him and we let go, trying to trust Him more.

Isaiah 12:5
Sing to the Lord, for he has done glorious things; let this be known to all the world.

‘…Don’t blame it on the preacher ’cause the preacher done told
The devil’s got a target on my heart and my soul

But let me tell you, brother, what the devil don’t know
The lower I go, the more I’m gonna lift you…

Higher (higher) higher (higher) higher
I’m gonna lift you higher (higher) higher (higher) higher
God Almighty, you are worthy
Higher (higher) higher (higher) higher…’

Ever breath that we take is a miracle. Every thought that we think is a gift. Every smile that we share and every laugh that we hear, it is all a gift from God. We can take life for granted and not give God glory for His great works, but He is so much more than we can imagine. He IS the God ALMIGHTY! He should be lifted higher.

I would like to quote Caitlin from her earlier devotion, “Turn It Up”. I love the way we can hear God through different people. It is a similar message but it helps our hearts and our eyes to be opened. So what Caitlin said was really spot on. She said:

‘…He is the King of Kings and He reigns over all. As we lift Him up and praise Him for the life we have today, He will continue to bless us and protect us through everything. We are His children and we are protected and watched over by Him through everything…’

We have got to lift Him up for all He has done. Whether we are on top of the world or at the bottom of a well, let’s lift God higher. Did you know, Paul wrote Philippians while in prison? It is considered the ‘Happiest Book in the Bible’… And He wrote it in prison?! Let’s not let our situations define our praise but instead, let God transform you. We want to see Jesus lifted up!

‘…I may never get money, I may never have fame
But if I’m ever in the spotlight, I’ll point it back your way
‘Cause standing at the top was never-ever my goal
But if you put me on a mountain then I’ll tell the whole world
Singing hallelujah ’til I hit the dirt, oh…’

Don’t let the situation define your attitude. If you are feeling down, think about what you have… What Jesus have given you! Don’t let material possessions define who you are and how much God loves you.

If we can leave you with anything, it is this simple line. ‘Don’t let your situation define your attitude.’ Let’s lift Jesus higher!

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

‘…Leave me in rags and ruins and I’ll praise You through it
Clothe me in glory and riches, I’ll praise You just the same
All that I have, all I’ve been given, all of my life’s ambition
Is to worship, is to honor, is to bring You praise…’

3 thoughts on “We Lift You High

    • May we lift God higher! He is so worthy of our praise in every season of life. It was almost like a bit of a team devotion when you quoted Caitlin and I!

      God Bless Gad 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.