Psalm 25:4-5

Hey everybody,

I hope you’re all doing really well and are having a great week so far. As Uni went back yesterday, I felt it would be really fitting to discuss a verse that related to us beginning University and an exciting new chapter in our lives. I came across Psalm 25:4-5  and reading it was an encouragement and reminder to me that God directs our paths and that His ways are the only way, particularly as we come to this new era of our lives. I hope you find this verse encouraging as I did.

“Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your paths. Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Saviour, and my hope is in you all day long.”

When we are saved, we are changed through the work of the Holy Spirit in our lives. We don’t have the desire to follow our old ways and habits any longer, we are made new. As we grow more in our faith, we desire to know His ways more. We should no longer seek to conform to the pattern of the world (Romans 12:2), but to seek the Lord’s path for our lives and to live the way He wants us to live. May God teach and us guide us His paths so that we become more like Him.

In a University environment, we can be confronted by a huge array of cultures, ideas and beliefs, and it can be a really interesting experience to be exposed to these things.  However, we must always remind ourselves to stay true to what we know and to keep asking God that He will show us His ways. We will stray from the truth when we try to follow our own ways, may we stay on track and remain grounded in God’s truth.

I love the way this Psalm ends. It tells us why we should want to know God’s ways and stay on His path. He is our Lord and Saviour! He rules our lives and is in control of every detail. He has redeemed us from the punishment of sin that we deserved by taking it on Himself. God became sin for us. If God truly is the Lord and ruler of our lives and we are trusting in Him, our hope is in Him forever. There is nothing else we can find in this world that can be worthy of our trust.

I pray we will continue to let God- our Lord and Saviour guide us in His ways, not in the direction we may want to go in, because we belong to God. May God continue to guide our lives in His truth. There is nothing that can be more important than going God’s ways. May our lives go God’s way and not our own. We are going to learn so much during our degrees. We will be exposed to lots of fascinating information which will better our knowledge in a particular field. I really believe the most important thing we can ever know is God’s ways and God’s truth. To know God and to have a relationship with Him is wonderful and such a privilege. May we never take our faith for granted. Above all, may God continue to show us His ways and guide us in His truth.

I pray Father for your guidance and plans for our lives as we begin this new and exciting time. We will learn so much over the next few years, but I thank you that nothing can compare to knowing you. Continue to grow us Lord and help us to remain grounded in your ways. Our hope is in you Lord because you are in control of our lives and you have saved us. In Jesus name I pray, amen.

God Bless,

Josh Clarke The Faith Filled Friends

 

2 thoughts on “Psalm 25:4-5

Comments are closed.