Throwback Thursday

Sacred Trust

Back to Petra for another Throwback Thursday. The song “Sacred Trust” has some of the most impacting lyrics and I really felt like it needed to be shared with all of you. So here it is.

Sacred Trust- Petra (2003)

Lyrics:

‘…You never tried to win more secular appeal
And water down Your message with a slightly different feel
You never tried to be politically correct
Or skirt around the issue attempting to connect

You spoke the truth in love so faithfully
You expect no less from me

It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
To take Your Word into all the world
It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
The message of salvation and Your love

You never shied away from critical debate
Or beat around the bushes when discussing human fate
You weren’t ashamed to tell them who Your Father was
Never ran from persecution like human nature does

You prayed for all believers on Your knees
Then you handed us the keys

It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
To take Your Word into all the world
It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
The message of salvation and Your love

You’re trusting us to be bold
The story has to be told
To every nation and tongue
Young and old
I’m gonna shout from the hill
How could I ever be still?
I’m gonna let the chips fall
Where they will

You spoke the truth in love so faithfully
You expect no less from me

It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
To take Your Word into all the world
It’s a sacred trust that You gave to us
The message of salvation and Your love…

Jesus never ever backed away from all the controversy. He was never trying to win respect or peoples love. Everything He ever did was against modern culture. But everything He ever said or did was for people, for us. He showed the greatest love of all.

Now He has entrusted us with this sacred trust. He has trusted us to be bold, to tell His story and His love. He gave us the keys, the Holy Spirit. Now, He calls us to stand up and live unashamed. This world may tell us that we are wrong, that we are not politically correct. But that doesn’t matter, as long as we are following Jesus and seeing this world through His eyes.

Life can get hard. People will oppose us and say that we stand for the wrong thing. But if we trust in Jesus we know that what we are doing is His will. Let’s pray, let’s rise and let’s fight for love. It’s a sacred trust that He gave to us!

Psalm 86:15

But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Psalm 86:1-4

Hear me, Lord, and answer me,
    for I am poor and needy.
Guard my life, for I am faithful to you;
    save your servant who trusts in you.
You are my God; have mercy on me, Lord,
    for I call to you all day long.
Bring joy to your servant, Lord,
    for I put my trust in you.

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “Throwback Thursday

Comments are closed.