This Is Who I Am

Happy Thursday everyone! I am going to take a slight deviation from throwback Thursday this week because I really want to share this song. The song is one which I only came across earlier this week and I have really enjoyed it! It’s ‘This Is Who I Am’ by Colton Dixon. I immediately thought, I need to do this for a devotion! I love listening to Colton Dixon’s work and this song is from His 2013 album, ‘A Messenger’. ‘This Is Who I am’ is all about who we are and standing strong in that because of what Jesus has done. Not only is this a really great song, but also really encouraging. I hope you enjoy!

 

“I’ve been singing out, screaming loud, shoutin’ for so long

This is who I am, it’s where I stand, I won’t apologise, this is why I’m free, now I believe, I will not compromise, this is who I am…”

Through what Jesus has done, we have been redeemed, set free and given new life! As Christians, we should seek to be different to the world and be people that live strong in the ways of God. We need to stand strong in our faith. It is not something we should be afraid or ashamed of, but rather we should rejoice in the fact we have been rescued from our sin. We need to declare that we belong to Jesus and that He is our identity. It is not defined by anything in this world, because all this is temporary. We don’t need to feel regret for what we believe, despite others making us feel guilt and shame. We should not be ashamed of the gospel!

We are free because of Jesus. Our faith in Jesus is what saves us. Our works can never do enough to save us, but it is through God’s grace alone that we free! Do not let anyone make you feel like you have to change on account of them. Jesus has saved us and given us the gift of eternal life. This is who we are are, children of the one true King.

Heavenly Father, I thank you for saving us and making us your children. May we never feel pressured to change who we are because of what others may think. I pray we will remain strong in our faith, growing more in you each day. I thank you that our identity is found in you Lord. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

1 corinthians 16:13 Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong.

Romans 1:16 For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.

God Bless everyone,

Josh Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “This Is Who I Am

Comments are closed.