Worship in The Storm

My Everything

This devotion has been a long time coming. It is finally here. Today we will be looking at Owl City’s amazing song, “My Everything”. This is my favourite Owl City song and definitely the best song in Mobile Orchestra. I have always loved Owl City’s music and now it’s time to discuss this amazing song.

My Everything

‘When my hope is lost
And my strength is gone
I run to you, and you alone
When I can’t get up and I can’t go on
I run to you, and you alone
‘Cause you’re my light in the dark
And I sing with all of my heart…’

What do you do when life starts caving in on you? Do you run to Jesus or do try fix it yourself? Often I find myself trying to fix the problem. But when things only get worst and I have got nothing left I know I can still run to Jesus because He has healing in His arms and He is strong enough to save me.

God is strong enough to hold us together. He is the creator of the universe. But if God is just strong how do we know He will save us when we fall? Well, that’s where Psalms 62:11-12 come in. It says…

Psalms 62:11-12

One thing God has spoken,
    two things I have heard:
“Power belongs to you, God,
and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”…

God is not just powerful but He is loving. He is able to help us and He loves us so much that He will help us. We were so lost, so broken, so hopeless. We were a mess. But Jesus loved so much that He came and died for us. He was strong enough to save us and He love so much that He came to save us.

John 3:16

 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Gods love is endless and so relentless. It is a Wild love that we can’t deny. It doesn’t matter if you’ve wondered a thousand steps away… because it is only one step back! Jesus is love. He lives inside of us, so we should be reaching out to others with that same great love.

I want this song to be our anthem in times of trial and hardship. Let us not grow weary of worshipping our God and savour.

‘…And I sing with all of my heart-

Hallelujah
My almighty God divine
Hallelujah
I am yours and you are mine
This is all I know I will say
Hallelujah
Hallelujah
You’re my everything…’

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

This verse was a big part of The Faith Filled Friends heart awhile ago. We believe that God is in control in every circumstance. He hold the whole world in Him hands and we believe that His love will pursue us to the ends of the earth. Even to the cross!

‘…When I’m plagued with pain
And filled with fear
I run to you, and you alone
When my days are few
And death is near
I run to you, and you alone
‘Cause you’re my light in the dark
And I sing with all of my heart…’

Psalm 46:1
God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

God is our strength when we are weak, but we can find ourselves running away, just like Adam and Eve. When we stuff up we still think God will judge us and be ashamed of us. This is a lie that the devil feeds us. We are the prodigal son and we must run into our fathers arms.

‘…When trouble comes and goes
And when the cold wind blows
I lift my hands up, I lift my hands up
When sorrow knocks me down
and you pick me off the ground
I lift my hands up, I lift my hands up…’

When life is hard, lets be known as a people who praise God. When we look at the bible we see the Israelites moan and complain constantly and they only praised God in the good times. Lets lift our hands up and worship Him when the waves are high and when the wind blows. God does all things well.

God Bless you all. I’ll be back again soon!

The Faith Filled Friends

3 thoughts on “Worship in The Storm

  1. God please help us sleep in the storm!

    Remember that God is always near. His love is alive in you. He holds you dearly. We are bless with the opportunity to share this hope! Thank you for your time and support in helping us grow our ministry!

    29:11!

    From The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.