Friends

Friends

Job 2:11
When Job’s three friends, Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite, heard about all the troubles that had come upon him, they set out from their homes and met together by agreement to go and sympathize with him and comfort him.

Friends are amazing, right? We all need friends, for the good times and the bad times. We can build each other up and cheer each other on. God has called us into community. Like it is said, no man is an island. We have been called into a community from the beginning of time.

Romans 14:7
For none of us lives for ourselves alone, and none of us dies for ourselves alone.

Throwback Thursday

Friends- Petra

Friends are great. But we must remember to be wise when it comes to our friends. We should have friends that build us up and help us grow not drag us down. While I was reading my bible I came across a very familiar verse which is very true when it comes to our friendships.

1 Corinthians 15:33
Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.”

We have a choice when it comes to our friends. We all have to decide if we want to be connected with that person or not. You will always find yourself like me- I have plenty of non Christian friends in my life. This is not a bad thing, if we are the influence rather than them influencing us. We need to be the light to our friends. Let’s be the difference in their life.

Proverbs 13:20
Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm.

Of course we all have very different friends, but I think you would all agree with me when I say that our Christian friends are always the closest to us. Over all my years my best friends have been Christians! It has stood out now over these holidays because I have only caught up with my Christian friends. That was very unintentional but it happened. The wise learn from the wise.

Friends are great because they help us grow in character. I know that I have learnt a lot from my friends; Josh, Jono and Caitlin. I have grown a lot because of them. Friends that build you up and cheer you on are some great friends.

Proverbs 18:24
One who has unreliable friends soon comes to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

What is a faithful friend? A friend that sticks by your side through thick and thin. Some friends will run when trouble comes but a faithful friend will stick by your side until the very end. I have a friend, Richardt, who used to be at my house all the time. He was practically my brother, we all considered him a part of the family. There are some friends that are just like family to you. These are faithful friends!

So now you may have put two and two together. Yesterday’s devotion links with today’s! We are The Faith Filled Friends. But what does that mean?

We are a family, a community here. We are brothers and sisters in Christ, growing and learning from each other. We will stand by each other through thick and thin, believing that Christ will reign on high! We are friends united by faith. We are friends that are standing in faith to see our world change by the love of Christ!

Jesus you are our number one, you are the only one! We will lift your name high for all eternity. We pray for your love to fill us a fresh. Please give us the faith to stand boldly like David did. You are all we live for! Take my life Jesus. Take it and use me. I am your creation and I am your child! Thank you for grace that washes us clean every morning. I give you my everything Jesus! You are my everything!
Amen

God Bless!

The Faith Filled Friends

6 thoughts on “Friends

Comments are closed.