Praise You In This Storm

Happy Friday everybody! I hope you have all had a fantastic week and are ready for another devotion! Today I’ve got some Casting Crowns for you with ‘Praise You In This Storm’. I find this song to be a great reminder of how we should respond to difficulties we face- we should praise God! It’s definitely not an easy thing to do, but to focus on God and to give Him praise, even in the midst of a storm is what wants us to do.

“I was sure by now, God You would have reached down, and wiped our tears away, stepped in and saved the day, but once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining…”

“As the thunder rolls, I barely hear Your whisper through the rain, “I’m with you”, and as, our mercy falls, I raise my hands and praise the God who gives, and takes away…”

Difficulties and hardships are a sure part of this life on earth. Because of sin, we live in a broken world. All of us will find ourselves in circumstances that push us and stretch us. It is in these times that we must trust God wholeheartedly. We can’t get through these tough times by ourselves, but only with God by our side. Sometimes we will cry out to God for help and to deliver us from these hardships, but we might not feel like He is doing anything. Know that God is always with us. He promises never to abandon us, whether we are in good times or bad times, He is with us! We never face these hardships by ourselves, God goes into battle by our side. Keep looking to God in whatever type of situation you may find yourself in, He is always there with you, holding you and fighting for you and He WILL deliver you, because He loves you so much!

Psalm 20:1 May the Lord answer you when you are in distress; may the name of the God of Jacob protect you.

Psalm 25:16-17 Turn to me and be gracious to me, for I am lonely and afflicted. Relieve the troubles of my heart and free me from my anguish.

Psalm 86:7  When I am in distress, I call to you, because you answer me.

“And I’ll praise You in this storm, and I will lift my hands, for You are who You are, no matter where I am, and every tear I’ve cried, you hold in Your hand, you never left my side, and though my heart is torn, I will praise You in this storm…”

It’s never easy to praise God in the midst of difficulty and hardship, but that is what God encourages us to do. We can remind ourselves of the amazing sacrifice that He made for us, giving us freedom from sin forever! When we focus on the greatness and goodness of God, it helps us to put our situation in perspective. We are reminded that God has it in His hands and that He is in control. God understands what we are facing, He confronted the same difficulties that we face during His time on earth. Jesus even faced death on a cross for our sins. He holds us and sympathises with us through our storm. God will never abandon us, but He will stay by our side and give us the peace and comfort that only He can give. Even though we may be falling to pieces, when we give God the glory and focus on Him during our hardships, He will come close and comfort us and we will grow closer to Him.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Psalms 42:5 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation.

“I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth”.

This last verse is the words of Psalm 121:1-2. Psalms has so much to say about suffering and it is a really great place to go to for wisdom when we find ourselves in these difficult times. David had a very up and down life and we can learn so much from how he looked to God during the tough times. This verse is comforting, it acknowledges that our help to get through the hard times comes from God and God only. The maker of everything of heaven and earth promises to help us get through the hard times! He will be right there with us, comforting us and giving us His peace. When we face struggles and hard times in this life, we need to lift our eyes to God. He is the only one that can and will get us through. Give God praise for the God He is and for what He has done- in the good times AND the bad times. He will deliver you, so fix your eyes on His goodness!

Heavenly Father, we will face many difficulties and tough times in this life. There is no way around it. But I thank you that you are always with us- you promise never to leave us on our own. Thank you that you are right beside us getting us through with you strength. Even in the hard times, may we praise you and focus on how great you are and what you have done for us. May our eyes be fixed on you always, even in the tough times. Thank you for always being with us Lord. In Jesus name, Amen.

God Bless,

Josh Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

