Dare To Believe

“I will dare to believe, that You are the Saviour, living in me”

Hey everyone! I can’t believe Christmas has come and gone already!  I really enjoyed our count up to Christmas series and I hope you did too. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! I’ve got a great song for you today; it’s ‘Dare To Believe’ by Colton Dixon. I listened to His ‘Anchor’ album the other day and I really enjoyed it. I have a few favourites on this album and this is one of them. This song has a great message about what we believe as Christians and it is a wonderful reminder about the truth of God. I hope you enjoy!

 

“I was just a kid when I heard about the stories, of the prophets, teachers, priests, kings, and queens, of water turned to wine, how You brought the dead to life, they were more than words, they were truth to me…”

As kids at Sunday school, we were taught about the many bible stories like Jonah and the whale, Moses and the burning bush, Lazarus being raised from the dead and many more! I know I learnt lots in my younger days and I can still remember it, even now! The life of Jesus as told in the Gospels was a big part of what I was taught. Many prophecies were foretold about Jesus and He fulfilled each and every one of them during His time on earth! For me, that is something that people cannot dispute! When you take the time to dig into these stories and accounts, they become more of a reality, rather than being just a story. It begs the question of Jesus being so much more than just a good man, but rather the Lord and saviour of all humanity. We have just celebrated Christmas, where we remember Jesus coming to earth to dwell among us, and ultimately pay the price for our sins. The stories and historical accounts found in the bible are full of truth and are far from being just stories. The amazing thing about them is that they still apply to us now, despite being written thousands of years ago!

When we read about the miracles of Jesus and the amazing events recorded in the bible, we can have the assurance that they are truth and more than just stories. They all point to Jesus, who was much more than just a moral teacher. He is our Lord and Saviour!

2 Timothy 3:16- All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.

1 Thessalonians 2:13- And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe.

“I will dare to believe, that You are the Saviour, living in me, and I know You always will be, the God of the impossible, the God of every miracle, here for the world to see, I dare to believe…”

When I first heard these lyrics from the chorus, they almost seem to be a proclamation to God, declaring who is really is. We can face difficulties in this life which may cause us to doubt and question our faith. Even as we grow older, we can lose the spark in our faith and loose the “Child-like” innocence that God calls us to have. Our faith in God is not something that should dim or that becomes less of a priority as we grow older, in fact it should become stronger as we grow, as we learn to become more like God.

We need to hold onto the truth about Jesus. We believe that He is our Saviour, the only one who can and did save us from our sin by being the substitute for our punishment. Jesus is alive in us, in all those who trust in Him through His Holy Spirit. God will continually be with us, no matter what we face. He is capable of so much more than we can ever imagine. He comes through for us when we might think otherwise and He can do wonders for us and give us miracles! These are amazing things! The awesome God we read about in the bible is living and doing wonderful things in us and in all those who trust in Him as Lord and Saviour. I dare to believe in our God who can do all that ask and so much more!

Acts 4:12- “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved”.

Mathew 19:26- Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

“You are the Son of God, you lived and died for us, you’re here and You are still alive, you are the Son of God, you lived and died for us, you’re here and You are still alive…”

I really love this verse towards the end of the song. I just love how it proclaims the truth about God and what He came to do. Jesus truly is the Son of God. How He lived on earth proved that beyond doubt. Like I said earlier, Jesus was able to fulfill all the prophecies foretold about Him. Most significantly, Jesus died and three days later rose again, proving that He was God’s Son through and through. No ordinary man could do what Jesus did. Jesus rose from the grave, defeating death and giving us eternal life so that we would no longer have to fear death. One of the great things about this verse is that talks about what Jesus did, but it also reminds us that Jesus is alive and here with us now. Jesus gave His life for us but He rose again and now lives inside of us. And He changes us, helping us to become more like Him each day through His Spirit.

1 Corinthians 15:4- “That Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures”.

Galatians 2:20- I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

Do you dare to believe? Faith in God is a decision that we must make personally, we can never force anyone to believe. Who God is and what He has done is life changing. Jesus died for us and rose again and that means He can live in us, allowing us to become more like Him. Because of this, I really believe Jesus is worth believing in.

Ephesians 2:8- “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God”.

I thank you God for being our Lord and Saviour. I thank you that we are saved through our faith in you and that our salvation requires no effort of our own. Thank you for your word that allows us to grow more in our knowledge of you. I pray we can come to know you more and may others also come to know you as their Lord and Saviour. I pray we can dare to believe in the truth about you Lord. Amen.

God Bless,

Josh Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dare To Believe

Comments are closed.