Day 18: Let Go

Pride

Hey guys and welcome to the Sunday Sessions. Today I will be talking about pride and what we can do this Christmas to remove it from our lives. I really hope this challenges you and allows us all to grow in Jesus.

So what is pride? “a feeling of deep pleasure or satisfaction derived from one’s own achievements,” or “consciousness of one’s own dignity.” Okay, we know what the dictionary says about pride, now we need to see what the bible says. So, let’s jump in then.

Christmas Edition

Sunday Sessions

James 4:6- But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: “God opposes the proud but shows favour to the humble.”

We all struggle with pride in life. And it is hard because many of us don’t recognise that we are proud. The bible says numerous times that God hates pride! He has tested me this year with my pride and I felt that this message was important. So, to Proverbs, the book of wisdom!

Proverbs 11:2- When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.

Proverbs 16:5- The LORD detests all the proud of heart. Be sure of this: They will not go unpunished.

So it is now time to put this into the Christmas context. Jesus came down from heaven to be born in a manger. The saviour of the world was born next to animals.

It you remember the shepherds came to worship him. There were also three wise men who brought gifts. The rich and the poor were together to worship the Lord. This Christmas, don’t let your pride hold you back from discovering and worshipping Jesus! Lay down the pride!

Proverbs 27:2- Let someone else praise you, and not your own mouth; an outsider, and not your own lips.

This song really stood out to me when I was preparing this devotion. It is an All Things New song, “Use Me”.

‘You tell me I should think of others
More than I think of myself
To care more about another
So Lord help me to lay aside
Everything that feeds my pride…’

All Things New- Use Me

Merry Christmas

The Faith Filled Friends

One thought on “Day 18: Let Go

  1. So true Gad! It can be so easy for pride to get in the way. Jesus despises pride, just like the bible says. May our motivation to remain humble come from what Jesus did for us on that first Christmas. He came from His throne to become man, to become one of us.

    Great stuff Gad

    Like

Comments are closed.