Day 12: Come However You Are

Come However You Are

Hey everyone. Welcome back to our count down (up) to Christmas. On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, a new life and washed me clean! Jesus came to save us and not to remake us. In the bible, Adam and Eve sinned but God didn’t start again because He loved us! Enter Christmas. Jesus came to Earth, completely human, faced all the temptations and never sinned. He later dies for our sins and all sin ever goes upon Jesus, the sinless one.

So if you haven’t been here long or you missed it, I covered a similar topic on the last Sunday of November. I used the song, “Never Beyond Repair” by Everfound. That devotion had been something that God had called me to do, and I knew I wasn’t done. So I have been waiting to continue with this topic and I felt God tell me this morning, that today was the day. So, here we are with the incredible City Harbor single, “Come However You Are” which is also on Wow Hits 2014. I love that album. So, let’s jump in then!

Christmas Edition

Message Monday

City Harbor- Come However You Are

 

‘To anyone walking down a hard road
Worn out with blisters on your feet
To anyone with a heart that’s shattered
Doing your best to hold it together
With no prayer to pray and no song left to sing…’

Let’s face it, life is not easy. Things can go from good to bad really quickly and we can find ourselves blaming God. As I was reading my bible this week I have been inspired by Job. This man face more than I’ll ever know and his faith never wavered. Job lost just about everything; his sheep, his oxen, his camels, his servants, and all of his sons and daughters. What he didn’t lose, was his faith in God. Let me share a bit of what Job did with you.

Job 1:20-22

At this, Job got up and tore his robe and shaved his head. Then he fell to the ground in worship and said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.

It is such a beautiful line by Job. He still lifts God’s name up after all that he face. I really feel that we need to be like Job, not losing faith during the hard times.

‘…Whatever pain you’re dealing with
Let me offer this…

…Come however you are
Come with all your heart breaks
Come with all the mistakes you’ve made
Lay them down at the cross
Give them to the God who loves you
Hurt, scarred, falling apart
Come however you are…’

Matthew 11:28-30

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

When we stuff up and we feel like we have just done the unforgivable, God forgives us. He calls us when we are weak, when we are broken and when we feel undeserving of love. Remember Adam and Eve? They stuff up and ran from God, but God came down and searched for them, calling their names. He knew what they had done but He had already forgiven them, it was sin that pulled Adam and Eve away. Jesus came to break sin so we could once again be with God.

God calls you. That was a word that I got in church this Sunday. As you repent and drawn near to God, we forgives and moves close to you. Let me quote “Never Beyond Repair”.

‘You’ve done what you promised that you’d never do
Your innocence’s gone and your fears coming through
How did you end up like this, feeling so lost?
Like your life is in pieces too broken to fix
And shames got you tied to a weight you can’t lift
But the biggest mistake that you’ve made
Isn’t too big…’

Nothing is too big for God. Christmas time reminds us of the sacrifice God and Jesus made. Jesus came to be lamb, slaughtered for us. His blood would wash us clean and we would be forgiven. The devil will try to tell you otherwise. He will tell you that you are too far gone, too broken, too sinful for God. But God calls you near.

1 John 1:9
If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

God calls you. He is calling for you to confess your sins so you can put your trust in God. There is no sin that God can’t erased, don’t listen to that lie. I have seen too many people fall away from Christ because they believed their sin was bigger than God. That is one of the devils favourite lies that he uses to break Christians.

I had a friend who fell into the temptation of lust and he spoke to me one time and told me that he was falling apart. God was with him during these times, calling him near. But every time the devil tempted him he felt that God couldn’t love him any more. Lust is a sin with anger, lying and many others that we may do without knowing. I can snap sometimes and get angry and that is sinning. Repent. After you sin the first thing you must do is repent. Say sorry, acknowledge your fault and your weakness. God will bring healing and strength.

…Come however you are
Come with all your heart breaks
Come with all the mistakes you’ve made
Lay them down at the cross
Give them to the God who loves you
Hurt, scarred, falling apart
Come however you are…’

God calls you. He calls you to lay it down. Surrender it to him, giving him control. Because of the cross, all sin is removed and forgiven. You will never be too far gone. And like I said last time:

“If you only take one thing away from this, I pray that it is the truth that there is hope and that you are free from sin.”

Job 40:4-5 “I am unworthy—how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth. I spoke once, but I have no answer—twice, but I will say no more.”

We can feel an undeserving of God’s love. But that is grace, an undeserved favour. I thank God for His amazing grace that saved me from sin and death.

‘…To the girl who never had a father
To the guy who thinks he’ll never
Amount to much of anything
To those of us who feel unwanted, unneeded, Unloved and desperately incomplete…

…Come however you are
Come with all your heart breaks
Come with all the mistakes you’ve made
Lay them down at the cross
Give them to the God who loves you
Hurt, scarred, falling apart
Come however you are…’

God calls you. He calls you wherever you are and however you are. God’s love covers a multitude of sin.

Psalm 32:5- I acknowledged my sin to You, And my iniquity I did not hide; I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD”; And You forgave the guilt of my sin. Selah.

And of course the amazing:

Psalm 103:12- as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us. (Psalm 103:11- For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him;)

God’s love covers every mistake and short coming. He calls you, so run to Him with all you baggage and sin and lay it down at His feet, for He loves you.

Romans 8:37-39

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I want to give anyone out there the opportunity to meet Jesus. We have never done this before but I believe God has called us to do this. So pray this prayer with a sincere heart.

“Dear Jesus, I ask you into my life today. Please come and make your home in me. Fill me with your love and your spirit, wash me clean. I repent for my past mistake and I come to you as I am. Thank you for your love that meets me as I am. Thank you that I am never beyond repair. I want you Lord as my number one, for all the days of my life. In Jesus name, Amen.”

Thank you so much for joining us today. We pray that you have a great week and have a very merry Christmas! God bless.

The Faith Filled Friends

6 thoughts on “Day 12: Come However You Are

  1. HAPPY 12TH WEEK ANNIVERSARY THE FAITH FILLED FRIENDS!
    Thank you all so much for making this work. We are blessed and so grateful to have all of you! God Bless… and Merry Christmas! 1 week and 5 days until Christmas! Woohoo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed this message Gad! I love how we can come to God just as we are. We don’t have to try and fix ourselves because Jesus will through what He has done for us.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.