Day 7: Forgiven

Happy Wednesday everyone! I’m looking forward to today’s devotion and I hope you are to! Well it’s never easy to find a song for the devotion. But it’s always a great challenge. With so many amazing Christian songs out there, picking just one is never an easy feat. I had a list on my desk, but as soon as I began listening to my playlist and thinking about it more, that original list changed very quickly! So after much thinking, searching and prayer, it is ‘Forgiven’ by Sanctus Real. Listening to this song the other day, I was able to reflect on the words and what they really mean. Sometimes when we listen to music, we can get so caught up in the music itself, that we can actually overlook the lyrics. Of course, the lyrics are the most important part. I pray you are blessed and encouraged today. I am sorry if the video doesn’t play on the site… that’s technology for you! Let’s get to it!

“Well, the past is playing with my head,and failure knocks me down again, I’m reminded of the wrong, that I have said and done, and that devil just won’t let me forget…”

It can be easy to be reminded of our past mistakes. Whether it is something significant or even just little things like remembering something we said that we shouldn’t have said. They can be crushing and defeating, even to the point where they seek to own us. It can take us on a cycle of regret and guilt and make it hard to get back up again. The devil will always try to pull us away from the hope that we have in Jesus. He does anything he can to get us to doubt our relationship with God, simply because He is in direct opposition to God. One of the ways he does this is by reminding us of our past- the things we have said and done. These things play on our mind and make us think we are stuck in a pit of our past mistakes. Do not be deceived by the devil!

1 Peter 5:8- “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour”.

Because… we have been forgiven! God has wiped our slates clean and cleansed us of our sin! Although the enemy may try to crowd our minds with our past mistakes, they no longer define us. God has made us new! When God looks at us on judgement day, He will not see our sin and imperfection, but rather Jesus in our place. Jesus has taken our place and all of our sins upon Himself. We don’t have to dwell on the past, nor should we because God has changed us and made us a new creation!

Isaiah 1:18- “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool”.

Psalm 103:12- “As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us”.

2 Corinthians 5:17- “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here”.

“When I don’t fit in and I don’t feel like I belong anywhere, when I don’t measure up to much in this life, oh, I’m a treasure in the arms of Christ…” 

When I was reading through the lyrics and listening to the song, this line really stuck out for me. The world can seem like such a vile place at times. It can make us feel like strangers, like we aren’t good enough. But in truth, this world isn’t really our home, we belong in heaven, the home for all of God’s people. Christians seek to be distinctive in the way they live, so the world can see we aren’t like everyone else. There will be times in everyone’s life when we will feel out of place, like we are sticking out like a sore thumb! We might also feel like we just aren’t making the mark. But remember, the way the world groups and judges people is shallow. So often, the world concerns itself with the external value of the person, rather than what is on the inside. People can be so quick to make judgements based on first impressions.

Do not be discouraged by the world, take comfort in God’s acceptance of you. No matter who you are or what you may have done, God wants you to come to Him just as you are. God created each and every one of us in a special way and He has incredible plans for each and every one of our lives! I was listening to ‘Made’- Hawk Nelson last night and I took the time to really listen to the lyrics and I was encouraged by them! The song is all about how God made us beautifully and wonderfully and with a purpose! I would urge you to listen to it if you haven’t yet. But back to forgiven! God loves us so much, more than we could ever know! When we do not feel valued by the world around us, remind yourself that you are precious in God’s eyes. Just like the lyrics in this verse say, “I’m a treasure in the arms of Christ”. God will always love and value us for who we truly are. When we look to the cross, we can be continually reminded of this love that God has for us. We are forgiven because God treasures us! What God thinks of us is so much more valuable than what world thinks.

Deuteronomy 7:6-” For you are a people holy to the Lord your God. The Lord your God has chosen you out of all the peoples on the face of the earth to be his people, his treasured possession”.

John 3:16- “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life”.

Hold onto this truth today… we are forgiven!! God has washed us white as snow and we are no longer blemished by our sins! Although the world and the devil will try to hold us down with the weight of our past, it doesn’t matter even one bit in God’s eyes. He loves us dearly and has forgiven us completely. We are valued and treasured by our amazing God. He sent Jesus for our sake! Remember that we belong to Christ, we don’t belong to the world, so don’t let it try to own you by reminding you of what you have done. I really love this verse from Philippians 3:13-14-  “Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus”.

I thank you Heavenly Father for you incredible love for us. Thank you that you value and treasure us because we are your special creation. We know that no matter what we have been, no matter what mistakes we have made, we can be washed clean through what Jesus has done on the cross. May we look forward to life with you, may we never be weighed down by our past, but I pray Lord that we can strain towards what is ahead. I thank you for your forgiveness God. In your name, Amen.

But here in your arms I know what I am, I’m forgiven!

One thought on “Day 7: Forgiven

Comments are closed.