Day 6: Lead Me

Lead Me

Hi and welcome to day 6 of our count down (up) to Christmas. Today I really want to get real with you all. This may get long, but I’ll aim to keep it short and simple.

Genesis 1:26-27
Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals,and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”
So God created mankind in his own image in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

We are made in the image of God. God made man and woman to rule of the other creatures together. This topic of the sixth day will be my main focus for our sixth day devotion.

I made this devotion for Sunday Sessions but God told me to postpone it and cover that “All of Me” topic. But today I will take a look at a few songs but my main focus will be the Sanctus Real song, “Lead Me”. This song moved me the first time I heard it and it still does. So, let’s jump in then!

Christmas Edition

Sunday Sessions

Lead Me- Sanctus Real

Lead Me. Two simple words that are very easy to say, but much harder to live out. What does leading look like?
Lead- verb, 1: ’cause (a person or animal) to go with one by holding them by the hand, a halter, a rope, etc. while moving forward.’ Dictionary definition.

‘I look around and see my wonderful life
Almost perfect from the outside
In picture frames I see my beautiful wife
Always smiling
But on the inside, I can hear her saying…’

So ever since I first heard this song I loved it. Sure, people liked to tell me that it a song about marriage and it shouldn’t mean anything to me, but that is far from the truth. This song reminds us that we can’t live this life alone, we need God. This song is a prayer in my heart, that God would be first in every area in my life.

I stuff up and my friends and my family will be more than happy to give you some examples. I can beat myself up over these things but I have got to remember that there is more to life than relying on myself and my strength.

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

When I am weak God is strong. In this devotion I would like to cover our relationships; with God, our family and our friends. Although I am still young and I am not married, I would still like to discuss these topics.

We are called to lead our families and our friends. Often I find myself doubting what I am really doing. Am I really leading my friends, or am I just messing them around? To lead the ones we love we need to first become followers. Jesus calls us all to be followers not leaders. So to become able to lead we need to follow Jesus above everything else.

‘…Lead me with strong hands
Stand up when I can’t
Don’t leave me hungry for love
Chasing dreams, what about us?

Show me you’re willing to fight
That I’m still the love of your life
I know we call this our home
But I still feel alone…’

 Lead- noun, 1: ‘the initiative in an action; an example for others to follow.’

We need to Lead our families and friends, but sometimes we don’t feel qualified. God, why me? But all I can ask is that He would lead me! I pray that God would give me the strength and the courage to lead my friends and my family. I know that one day I will have a family of my own and I pray that I am a strong dad and husband, that my family can lean on. I pray that I would be able to stand up and lead my friends with the wisdom and love that Jesus has.

God calls us to lead the ones closest to us and also the ones that are far. Are you ready to lead with strong hands? Stand up when they can’t Don’t leave they hungry for love, Chasing dreams, what about us? Show them that you’re willing to fight? That they’re still the love of your life?

I don’t know about you but I think that this is a big responsibility. That’s when we need God’s strength and grace.
‘…So Father, give me the strength, To be everything I am called to be, Oh, Father, show me the way, To lead them, Won’t you lead me?…’
We should always follow God, looking to Him for help and knowledge. Let Him lead you, so you can lead them. Whether it is being the best father, the best husband, the best friend or the best you, just remember to let God lead.

Iron Sharpens Iron

So, if you don’t know, I am a fan of the Ninjago series. Yes you can laugh but it is a really great show. Since I am on holidays I have had some time to catch up on the latest episodes, but something stood out for me. Episode 48- “The Temple on Haunted Hill”. The episode is about the phrase, “Iron sharpens iron, sensei sharpens student.” The sensei test all of the main characters to bring out the best of them. Towards the end of the episode they say, “Iron sharpens iron, sensei sharpens student, brother sharpens brother.”
As Christians we are a family under the Father. Brothers and sisters in Christ. This line really stirred me. We are one big family and we should always have each other’s backs. Where one of us is weak the other needs to help. Brother strengthens brother. Let’s lead each other. Let’s lead our family and our friends. And in order to lead we need to let Jesus lead.
Psalm 25:5- Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Saviour, and my hope is in you all day long.
This week, let’s let God lead. We can’t do this alone and we shouldn’t try to!
God Bless!
The Faith Filled Friends
9 thoughts on “Day 6: Lead Me

  1. I’ve got to disagree with your last comment Gad, I don’t think it was poorly written at all man! I think you’re being too harsh. I really love the message from this devotion, we have to let God lead us if we are to be good leaders ourselves. How can we lead those around us without God at the forefront of our lives. Let’s lead with a Godly example. I also love the reference to Ninjago. Though I’ve never seen the series I love how you related it to the devotion! We can all help one another and strengthen others in their weakness.

    God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.