You Raise Me Up

Hello our beautiful Faith Filled Followers! We hope you are having a wonderful morning. I am so very excited to be delivering this devotion this morning, inspired by a song which I have known for a very long time and it is one which is very special to me. You Raise Me Up is a song which has been covered by Westlife, and I have chosen this version because I love the orchestration and piano behind it. This song was originally composed by the duo Secret Garden, which is also a beautiful version. Not going to lie, I cry so much every time I hear this song because it is very emotional, but it always makes me feel so amazing and warm inside. I really hope that you are really moved by this song and enjoy this devotion.

Psalm 145:18 – The Lord is near to all who call on Him, to all who call on Him in truth.

Exodus 33:14 – The Lord replied, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest”.

“When I am down and oh my soul so weary . . . When troubles come, and my heart burdened be, Then I am still and wait here in the silence, Until you come and sit awhile with me.” It is always such an amazing feeling experiencing God and His presence which surrounds us. In times of trouble He will wrap His arms around us and soothe us. He loves when we call out to Him when it is the hardest, and He will come and sit and listen to us speak to Him. God is our rock and He knows the answers when we are down and out. He gives us His ultimate strength and power so that we can feel strong and we can feel beautiful. I know there are time when it can get really hard and we feel like we have no one and nothing. But one thing which will always remain is our Lord, His never ending power and glory will reign forever, and He will always be our number one.

“You raise me up so I can stand on mountains, You raise me up to walk on stormy seas, I am strong when I am on your shoulders, You raise me up to more than I can be.”

Psalm 138:3 – When I called, You answered me; You greatly emboldened me.

With God we can do so many amazing things which we never imagined we could do. We mean so much to Him, as we are His Sons and Daughters and He will give us His everything in love and strength. God has the power to move mountains and part the waters, He can do absolutely anything. My favourite part of this song is when it says “You raise me up to more than I can be.” God knows what we are capable of and He raises us up to know that we have purpose and meaning to our lives, because of Jesus Christ. Without Jesus we wouldn’t be here today. Sometimes we really feel like there are things which we can’t do and we will never be able to do. We get into a mind set which tells us that things are impossible and that we don’t have direction. God knows our direction and our path which the future holds. He has seen everyday ahead of us and knows what we will be facing. But we can be sure that God will be with us every step of the way as our rock and strength, our light when there is darkness! We just have to trust in Him as He raises us up to be the people He knows we are. He loves us more than we will ever know. I thank you God for raising us up to be the people You know we can be in this world.

Hebrews 13:8 – Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Heavenly Father I thank You for your strength and courage through everything. I thank You that we can come to You through the trials and tribulations. I thank You that You have changed our lives so that we can praise You forever more. You raise us to be more than we can imagine Lord, and may we forever serve You for everything You have done. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

God Bless everyone,
Caitlin Malcolm, The Faith Filled Friends

4 thoughts on “You Raise Me Up

    • I really enjoyed your devotion Caitlin! You have done a wonderful job and used such a beautiful song! Just like you said in the devotion, the orchestral music is fantastic. But more than that, this song has an encouraging message which reminds us that God is always with us in the valleys and in the hard times. He will raise us up, so we can stand on the mountains. I really liked your comment about when things get really hard, when everything feels like it’s failing, God will remain and be constant throughout it all. He will never fail us! That really stood out for me. Thank you Caitlin!

      Like

  1. I just missed the devotion this morning! Better late than never though…

    And it was worth the wait… I would have preferred reading it at 9… I should have waited- anyway!

    Great devotion. Hebrews 13:8 is beautiful, I just read it the other day. This was a special devotion Caitlin. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    God Bless

    Liked by 2 people

  2. No problem! I really felt that God had called me to do this song and I am really glad that I did! Yes, Hebrews 13:8 is very beautiful and it really speaks out. No problem 🙏🏼🙌🏼 God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.