We Are Innocent

Innocent

Hey everyone! We are back today with another devotion and we have also brought back the fantastic band Luminate. So last time I covered their work, we were looking at hard love and I used the song “Miracle” personally one of my favourites from the band! But today, as you could tell from the title, we will be looking into the topic of innocence and the death and resurrection of Jesus. So today, we are super pumped to announce the song for the devotion is, “Innocent” by Luminate.

Innocent- Luminate

We are innocent. We are innocent because of the ultimate sacrifice of Jesus! His love and the never ending, never failing grace washed us clean and gave us hope! I love the question Luminate as in the opening line.

‘What if You would’ve never sent Your Son
What if You held back Your love
It would be so different
There would be no hope for us…’

There would be no hope for us! Without the love of Christ there would be no hope! We would all be doomed! I don’t know about you, but I’m certainly not perfect! I sin, I do stupid things and I lose my cool! I need the fruits to grow in my life because I am not perfect and I wish I was!

Sometimes I mess with me friends or I snap (yeah they are witnesses). I will find myself on my knees crying out to Jesus, I will be praying for forgiveness and for strength to overcome this fleshly desire and sin. But if Jesus hadn’t died… I couldn’t cry out for help! I couldn’t ask for grace and forgiveness! Would I even go to God in prayer? I don’t know, without the Holy Spirit in me I may wonder. You may think that’s a bit crazy but just read all about Moses and the stubborn Israelite’s he had to take out of Egypt. After all the signs and wonders they still doubted! Peter denied knowing Jesus. Tomas doubted that Jesus had come back, I mean He did tell them all the time.

But we have the Good News which we should share to the world! The truth, what really went down!

‘… But that’s not the way it all went down
We’re covered by mercy now
Could’ve found us guilty
But You chose to save us…’

Jesus chose to come and take the pain and the torture to save us! He took the lashes, He took the mockery and the hate, He took the crown, He took that vinegar and the nails, He took the cross but He also took our sin! Aww, it sends shivers down my spine! We look at that cross and see the pain and the brutality, but that’s not the end. Jesus took on the sin of the world causing God the father to look away from Him. All the love and favour from God left as He did the most heroic thing ever.

We hate seeing the hero lose out. When people don’t appreciate them or when they see them as vigilantes! Side note, I was playing Sly Cooper and it’s like that! No one sees the good acts only the bad. Back on topic… Jesus did the most heroic act of all becoming the embodiment of love. But He was kill to get there and God looked away from Him! Jesus knew the costs and He still went through with it and now, we are innocent! Thank you Jesus!!!

‘…We are, we are, we are innocent
We are, we are blameless
‘Cause You take all the shame
And You wash it away
Till we are, we are innocent…’

‘…So we can finally rest tonight
We can finally say goodbye
To the past that held us
To the fear that ruled our lives…’
‘…I know we’re gonna fall sometimes
Nobody’s got a perfect life
Could’ve found us guilty
But You chose to save us…’

Jesus chose to save us! To save you and to save me! I am so bless and I am so grateful! I can’t right a devotion like this without getting emotional! I am just so so thankful that I am free and that I have life in Jesus! Seriously, if you don’t know Him… Start searching! Read a bible, speak to someone! We have a Q&A section and a Prayer section, so if you need to chat just check those out. We also have our very own email for The Faith Filled Friends, so please send some questions and any feedback there! Jesus is ready to change your life, you just have to let Him! He changed me and remade me. I will never turn back from His great love because I have this hope in Jesus.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Jesus has a plan for you, it’s time you give Him some time and some space! Let Him speak to you.

Psalm 34:17 When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV):
“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

You are new in Jesus! His love washes away all sin, even the worst almost unforgivable sin! That is what grace is! We are innocent in the blood of Christ Jesus!

1 John 3:16
This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.

God bless you today! You have been forgiven and you are innocent. Walk like you are loved and live like you are free!

The Faith Filled Friends

3 thoughts on “We Are Innocent

Comments are closed.