Life In The Death Of Me

Life In The Death Of Me

Hey everyone, we are back with another fresh devotion! So today I really want to talk about an awesome song that I have only heard recently. It is such a great song by such an influential, raw, talented, unique and very unspoken of band. Every song is so different and it is incredible listening to it. Of course I am talking about Unspoken!

So today I will be talking about one of my favourite songs from their new album, “Follow Through”. This is of course, “Life In The Death Of Me”.  It is simply beautiful and I have to share it with you today!

Life In The Death Of Me- Unspoken

So Unspoken are one of my favourite bands, with every song they never cease to amaze me. Every song starts so differently and sounds so fresh. They smash out almost every genre of music under the son (See what I did there? 😉 ). “Life In The Death Of Me” is no exception as it brings something so personal to the listeners, something we don’t get often. This song is as autobiographical as it gets, with leader singer, Chad Mattson sharing his life experiences with us.

‘…In my dreams oh
There was a headstone
I saw a name at the top, that was my own
Underneath it said, guilty, sinner
Here lies a man who was meant for better
I wanna change, wanna live forever
Wont you take my hand…’

As Chad relives his past experiences and this dream we get to relate and understand. We were all dead, guilty sinners. We have all been on trial and we were all found guilty, but that’s not where it ends. We aren’t meant to just die and fall short of a better life, no. We were recklessly saved by the man Jesus Christ would lived out the life we never could. He took on all the sin and all the shame and not only did He rise from the grave, but He rose up with all of us. Saved and set free.

‘…Lead me into the water
Wash me under the waves
Lead me into the water
Cover me in Your grace
Who I am, what I was
Take me down, raise me up
Out of the water, changed
I found life in the death of me…’

As Christians we do a thing called baptism. This is where you accept Jesus Christ as your LORD and Saviour and get dunked under the water and then pulled up again. It is a public declaration of our faith and belief so if you truly trust in the Lord, take the plunge, all of heaven and all of us will cheer you on and celebrate with you! This going down and coming up symbolises the sins and the past life being washed away. You need to die to yourself so you can truly live! Let His great grace cover you and wash you clean. Let go of the past and die to yourself because you need to be born again to live out the best life. ‘…I found life in the death of me…’

‘…Better than a dream now
You’d never believe how
I was in a burning building ’til You sent the rain down
I got a clean start
Beating from a new heart
I left the old me buried in the graveyard
And now I’m seeing light
Now I’m feeling life
Burning on the inside
I’m never going back
Everything I had, I leave it on the shoreline…’

Leave the old life on the shoreline, never looking back but running straight after Jesus. It’s time that we die to ourselves accepting all Jesus has in store for us because His ways are far greater than our own. God works miracles and we need to pray for eyes to see them, but without faith and without trust we will never live the life Jesus has in store for us.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

God holds the past, present and the future. Our past has past and it doesn’t matter what we did because Jesus washes us clean… if we let Him. It’s time we stopped holding on and it’s time we let go and fall into His arms. Don’t keep the past present. Die to your old self, who you were before you truly and fully accepted Jesus. Then God can erase that from history. He just wants you to die to yourself so He can work His power. It’s something I have found with God, He hardly ever pushes something on you. He won’t tell you what to do, He won’t just fix your problem, but He will if you give it to Him!

Matthew 14:29-32 (NKJV)

So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.

Don’t hold onto your past and your struggles. Don’t give into pride. It’s time we call out to Jesus, “Lord, save me!” because He will never let you down. Don’t hold back from God because of fear, pride or past mistakes. It’s time to get into the water and get washed by the waves! Time to die to ourselves to find life! And of course…

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.

Look, we may never have to go to war and fight and lose our lives, what a blessing. But some people have and its because of their great sacrifice that we are free from war and destruction today. It is important to remember their sacrifice. I just has a one minute of silence for Remembrance Day. It reminded me of the sacrifice that these people made and the ultimate sacrifice that Jesus made.

John 15:13- Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.

I really want to encourage you, if you haven’t been baptised please do. All of us and all of heaven will cheer you on. Leave your old self behind. Also, if you don’t have the Unspoken albums, they only have two, please get them. It will be so beneficial to you. I think the new album is about $16 Australian dollars for the deluxe version. Trust me, it’s totally worth it. Another 10/10 album! It is exceptional!

God Bless you all today!

The Faith Filled Friends

6 thoughts on “Life In The Death Of Me

Comments are closed.