Freefall

Morning all! It’s Josh with you today and I’m so excited to share another fantastic song with you and some wisdom from God’s word! Today, it’s from none other than Royal Tailor! The band unfortunately split up a few years ago and I really wish they hadn’t as they have so many incredible songs and a real passion for God! The devotion today is based on their song ‘Freefall’. You may or may not have heard of it before, it’s not as well known as some of their other songs like ‘Ready Set Go’ but it’s still a real joy to listen to. Let’s get to it Faithful Followers!

 

Just like Caitlin said in her awesome devotion yesterday, about how our faith will never fail when we fix our eyes on God. But our faith must be strong, as it will be tested at times in our life. God will allow situations to enter our lives that will test us and cause us to struggle. But it is often in these times that our faith flourishes. Through times of testing, we find that we can’t face things on our own, we need Jesus by our side to help us get through it, because we are not strong enough on our own. That’s exactly what these lyrics are getting at from the second verse. “So high above the ground, you’ve got me hanging in mid air, between here and there, now all I have is You”… In these times of hardship and testing, we might feel like we are far away from the edge of safety, like we are alone in the deep end. It is in these times, we need to remind ourselves that all we have is Jesus to hold onto. We are never alone. Even though we may feel out in the open, like our faith is being stretched to the limits, Jesus is always holding us!

James 1:2-3- “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance”.

Isaiah 41:10- “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand”.

“I’m not afraid, I know I’m safe, It’s a chance but my choice is made, I’m not alone, You won’t let go, and I know through it all, you hold me in the free fall…” In the end, we know that we are safe in the arms of God. Even though our faith is being tested and strained, beyond our comfort zone, God is holding us in the free fall! We never have to be concerned that he will leave us on our own. The “free fall” is those times when we are out of our comfort zone.  Most of the time we find God has called us to do something that we feel is beyond us, or we are going through testing and trials. Either way, we are falling- things are not in our control. If you are feeling like you are in a “free fall” type of situation, whatever it may look life, I encourage you to trust God and hold onto Him. Even though these types of situations are hard and full of the unknown, don’t be afraid because God holds you and will not let you go.

 Deuteronomy 31:8-“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Isaiah 43:2- When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

“Thinking I can fly but I know it’s You, got me up here, no fear, no tears, mind’s clear, ’cause I know You’re here, can’t wait to see what You will do”. It’s easy to think that we have got ourselves through the rough patches, through the times of testing. We may try and convince ourselves that we did it on our own, but there is no way we could make it though on our own. It’s only through God that we able to get to the other side of our tribulations! It’s through His power and His strength that we get back on top of the mountains from the bottom of the valleys! We can count on God wholeheartedly to deliver us. He allows times of trials and testing as the scriptures say, to test our faith and as a result, we are able to persevere against whatever life throws in our path.When we trust in God fully, throughout our whole ordeal, we will get to the other side without fear or tears. There is no reason for fear when God is with us! So many people will try to get through things themselves and in the process they will be worn down and defeated. That’s not to say we as Christians won’t be beaten down, but the difference is that we will always rise again! God will help us to get back up again when we loose our way. When we have God on our side, He works wonders, protects us and blesses us in more ways that we can ever imagine!

Don’t ever think you can get out of the valley yourself! God is always right beside you and He gets you through to the end, shielding you and holding you all the way.

 2 Corinthians 1:10″He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us again. On him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us”.

We may find ourselves in the free fall, but know that God is holding you and He will not let you go- He will never forsake you. He walks with us through the valleys and He takes us to the mountain tops. The only way we can get there is through God’s strength, not through our own! I can’t help but think of Tauren Well’s song; ‘Hills and Valleys’ when I say this! We might feel far from safety, feeling like we are on our own. All we have in these desperate times is Jesus. Make Him your rock. When you’re in the free fall, hold onto Jesus! Father I thank you that even though our faith will be tested through times of trial and hardship, we know that you will never let us go. All we have to do is cling to you and keep trusting you for deliverance. Thank you for your promise to always be with us. Sometimes we might feel like we are loosing control, but I praise you that you are always in control. Thank you Jesus!

May God Bless you everyone!

Joshua Clarke- The Faith Filled Friends

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Freefall

  1. Woohoo! This is so awesome Josh! I love how it relates back to the Hills and Valleys topic that Gad discussed! James 1:2-3 is also such a wonderful scripture. Thank you for this message Josh! 🙌🏼🙏🏼
    #jesusdoesitagain
    #freefall
    #FFFCREW

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yeah yeah yeah! So good! I hope you all know that… ROYAL TAILOR RULES! Ha ha ha. Seriously, this is one of the first Royal Tailor songs I heard. I first heard, “Ready, Set, Go” and then “Making Me New” and then of course… “Freefall”. Such a great song to discuss. God really spoke to me through this song so thank you Josh for sharing God’s words with us!

    And I am Back Again! Yeah!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks Gad man!! Royal tailor sure does rule, they need to come back!! Wow, that’s really cool. It is a fantastic song! That is so great and encouraging to hear my friend! You’re welcome 🙂

    You are back!!
    God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just got my hands on this album recently. I have got to say, this is an incredible song… one of my favourites from the “Black and White” album. The words are amazing.

    I had heard this song a while back after I had heard “Ready Set Go” but I didn’t take notice to it. I seem to do that a lot. It has an awesome message and very smart visual imagery (sorry Ms Cody if that was wrong!) 🙂

    God Bless

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.