I’M NOT RELIGIOUS 

Disclaimer:
However controversional this may sound this devotional isn’t what I was planning on doing. This morning God just spoke to me and put on my heart for you guys to do this, hence the lateness haha
Religion vs Relationship.

These two things often get caught up with each other and confused.

What is religion?

Dictionary definition: “The belief in and worship of a superhuman controlling power, especially a personal God or gods.”

What is relationship?

Dictionary definition: “The way in which two or more people or things are connected, or the state of being connected.”
You see so often I see Christians getting caught up in the whole idea of religion. Even more often I see people being turned off of being Christian all because of religion
In the book of John 15:15 NLT JESUS says:

“I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me.”

Slaves to what? Slaves to religion.
Religion is about following a set of rules. Doing sacrifices and rituals.

Where in this scripture Jesus says He has set us free from a life such as this!
If we’re not slaves in religion, and Jesus doesn’t want us to be religious for Him, then what do we have left?

What do we do?
Instead in the scripture Jesus says, “Now you are my friends…”

Jesus, and God even, doesn’t want our religion. He wants a relationship!

Just like any relationship He want you to talk to him, run to him when you’re in trouble and sing with him when things go your way!
When people ask me “Are you religious?” I always answer “No… I have a relationship”
That’s what I want to encourage you guys with today!

Look past the religion of “I have to pray now. I have to go to church so many hours. I have to bring so many people to Christ, and then maybe I could be Christian”

But rather seek a relationship with our Heavenly Father. The one who is always there for you. The One who started it all!

Have a relationship with your creator!!

THAT IS THE BEST CHRISTIAN LIFE!!!
Unfortunately I don’t really have a song to encourage you guys with. Tho just came from the heart 🙂
God Bless fam!

– Jono

12 thoughts on “I’M NOT RELIGIOUS 

  1. Great stuff Jono! So many people see Christianity as a religion, but it’s all about a relationship with our Heavenly Father like you say! He loves us and cares for us, no matter what we’re facing. The best thing is, we don’t have to do anything to earn His love, it’s all about God’s grace!

    God Bless!

    Like

Comments are closed.