Do Something

Do Something

Welcome to The Sunday Sessions. Today we will be discussing the Matthew West song “Do Something” which is rather humorous. As Christians we need to do something and make God’s love known throughout the planet.

Sunday Sessions

Do Something- Matthew West

‘I woke up this morning
Saw a world full of trouble now
Thought, how’d we ever get so far down
How’s it ever gonna turn around
So I turned my eyes to Heaven
I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?”
Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of
People living in poverty
Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me
So, I shook my fist at Heaven
Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you”’

We often look at God and blame Him for all the wrong. There are so many hurting and lost people on this planet, why do we just sit around and wait for God to do something? He said it Himself, “I created You” It’s time to stop being hypocritical and to start doing something. I won’t sit here righting devotions without living out my words… That’s it! ‘…It’s not enough to do nothing. It’s time for us to do something…’

‘…I’m so tired of talking
About how we are God’s hands and feet
But it’s easier to say than to be
Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves
It’s alright, “somebody else will do something”
Well, I don’t know about you
But I’m sick and tired of life with no desire
I don’t want a flame, I want a fire
I wanna be the one who stands up and says,
“I’m gonna do something”

I am tired of this. This world needs us and God made us with purpose. It’s time to stop standing still and it’s time to do something…. “I’m gonna do something”…

Matthew 6:1-4

“Beware of practising your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven. “Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.”

Hebrews 10:24- And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.

Colossians 3:17- And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

Galatians 6:9- Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

The Faith Filled Friends… are out doing something. We’ll be back in 5! 😉
5 thoughts on “Do Something

  1. Yes Amen Gad! God created us so that we could make a difference in this world and we have been called to serve Him! 🙌🏼🙏🏼 This has been a great series this week as well!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah God has put a great calling on our lives! We just need to live life for God, always shining His light and His love! It has been a week of awesomeness. God’s words have shone on The Faith Filled Friends!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Great message Gad! It’s so true, we cannot sit there and expect someone to do it for us, we must listen to what God wants us to do. I agree with you as well Caitlin! God has made us to make a difference… so let’s do something when we see a need!!

    #matthewwest

    # loveisaction

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.