How Long

How Long

Hey everyone, and welcome to Throwback Thursday. It has been a long time since we have done a proper Throwback Thursday so of course, that’s what we are going to be doing today with a focus on some cool history. I will keep it short as I feel this is what I need to do nowadays but I really want you to spend the extra minute thinking about the song and what God has to say to you. So today, we have Petra again with the beautiful, “How Long”.

Throwback Thursday

How Long- Petra

But the whole assembly talked about stoning them. Then the glory of the Lord appeared at the tent of meeting to all the Israelites. The Lord said to Moses, “How long will these people treat me with contempt? How long will they refuse to believe in me, in spite of all the signs I have performed among them?

Numbers 13:10-11

If you are sure about what that was about, I encourage you to read from Exodus 2 all the way through to Deuteronomy 34:12 (Joshua). Moses was an incredible man and in fact,  Deuteronomy 34:12 tells us this. “For no one has ever shown the mighty power or performed the awesome deeds that Moses did in the sight of all Israel.” It is actually really sad reading that verse as Moses was truly one of the most extraordinary characters in the Bible. But Numbers 13:10-11 is a section in the time of Moses. After everything that the Israelites had seen, they still turned from God and turned against Moses.

How Long? It’s a simple question with an almost impossible answer. How Long, until my friends come to Christ? How Long, until I get better? How Long, until I stop doubting God’s power? How Long, until I can learn patience and stop my anger problems? We will ask ourselves and God questions like this, but if we don’t ask God in faith believing for a good outcome, we will never reach what we want.

The lyrics are simply moving and its such a beautiful song, sung out of a cry and a desire for more of God. For a breakthrough. I really believe that Petra wrote some of the most heartfelt and spiritual songs ever. We have music today (CCM) because Petra stood up to the church and reclaimed what the darkness had stolen. They said Petra was demonic and the music was for Satan, but when did the devil get cool music? Am I right?! He has no power here and He doesn’t deserve songs and music. But even people against this music agreed on the God written lyrics.

‘We have sung our songs of victory, We have prayed to you for rain, We have cried your compassion, To renew the land again, Now we’re standing in your presence, More hungry than before, Now we’re on your steps of mercy and we’re knocking at your door…

…How long, Before you drench the barren land. How long, Before we see a righteous man. How long, Before your name is lifted high. How long, Before the weeping turns to songs of joy…’

I really encourage you to check out the full the lyrics because they are incredible. I really hope you enjoyed this Throwback Thursday. It was more like a look back into the past of Christian music, but I guess it keeps it fresh.

God Bless you all!

The Faith Filled Friends

5 thoughts on “How Long

  1. Sorry about this long comment but I really feel a need to share what’s going on in my heart and what’s stirring in my soul…

    It’s not about me anymore. I am sick of it, and that’s why I have been having some time off, to pray and think about this. These long devotions might be great but I really feel challenged to focus this on you, on others. People often don’t have much time and they can’t read a whole devotion but everyone has time to get encouraged and press in with God. My devotions started getting longer and longer, so unnecessarily long that even I didn’t read them. I have probably only read a fifth of my devotions. I trust in God to speak through me and reach hearts but some devotions I feel like I am writing them, and that’s not what I want. This, all my devotions, all the work I put in, it should not be for me or in any way intentionally benefit me. I want these devotions to reflect God and speak His truth, and I don’t know how much of that I am actually doing.

    God is always good. He always has been and He always will be. God has called me to make a difference in this world, and I know that sounds really proud and boastful but He has called you too. Look, if God tells me to move I will move and if He shuts a door I will not try to open it. Life will be hard because you sometimes feel that you are doing the right thing, but then God tells you to move. If God wants to steal my show, then I’ll sit back and watch Him go. He wants us to move and trust in Him. He calls us to shine His light, not our own, but His. The world really wants to see the light of God in us, and that’s what makes us different. Everyone else shines their own light but Christians shine God’s light and His love.

    James 4:16-17—“But now you boast and brag, and all such boasting is evil. It is a sin when someone knows the right thing to do and doesn’t do it.”
    Matthew 6:1-4—“ Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.”
    “So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honoured by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”
    Matthew 6:5- “And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full.”

    God Bless
    Gad

    Like

  2. Fantastic devotion Gad with some good old Petra! God’s timing is perfect, He will always answer our prayers, according to His will.

    God Bless

    Like

  3. Thinking of you at this time Gad ☺️🙏🏼🙌🏼
    From Josh –
    Father God, I pray for Gad at this time. May you give Him your peace and assurance that you will give him the words to speak. You have blessed him with the amazing opportunity to serve you and I pray you will continue to use Him as you want, for your glory. I pray He will not be worried that He is writing the devotion with his own words, but I pray that your Holy Spirit, that lives inside of us will guide him to always shine your light. May we all shine your light so that the world will know that we live for you alone. We want you at the centre of our lives Lord. Please give Gad the encouragement to keep relying on you for his devotions, as he is already doing. Please Bless him and keep him in your care Heavenly Father. In your name I pray, Amen

    From Caitlin –
    Heavenly Father I pray for Gad. I pray Lord that you wash over him with all of your love at this time and that he will not feel weary about what is to come. Hold him close to you at this time God. Lord you have blessed Gad with the gift to speak your word, and I pray that he will use that gift and continue to do so. He must not feel doubtful about the amazing work you are doing in him for the Faith Filled Friends, but continue to serve you Lord for all of his days. He shines your love and your character Jesus, and I am so blessed that he is in my life and that he can inspire others to come and know who you are. I thank you Father for everything. In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

    God is with you, we are with you, and we love you.
    God Bless

    Like

Comments are closed.