Words-CCM

Hello Everyone,

Today I’m excited to share another devotion with you based on another one of my favourite CCM hits, ‘Words’ by Hawk Nelson.’Words’ was released in 2013 as part of the band’s ‘Made’ album. Hawk Nelson’s songs always point back to Jesus and this song is no different. It’s all about how we can honour Jesus and those around us with the words we say. Our tongues are powerful and they can have the power to build people up and also put them down. We should always seek to glorify God with what we say. With that in mind, let’s get into today’s CCM devotion.

 

“They’ve made me feel like a prisoner, they’ve made me feel set free, they’ve made me feel like a criminal, made me feel like a king…”

“They’ve lifted my heart, to places I’d never been, and they’ve dragged me down, back to where I began… 

The lyrics of these first two verses talk about our words being like a double edged sword. The words we speak are powerful. They can make us feel great and make others feel great too. Alternatively, they can make us and others feel truly horrible. That’s why we have to be so careful with what we say. The consequences can be devastating if we are not mindful of what comes out of our mouths. The saying “sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never hut me” is definitely wrong. Words have the power to change people’s lives- for better and for worse. Consider Jesus’ words in the bible. The words Jesus himself spoke are incredible, life changing words. The tongue can be difficult to control at times, particularly when we are angry or not thinking straight. But it is important to remember that our words are sharp, double- edged swords that can do a wealth of good and bad for those who are on the receiving end of what we say.

Proverbs 18:21- “The tongue has the power of life and death”.

“Let my words be life, let my words be truth, I don’t wanna say a word, unless it points the world back to You…”

As Christians, what we say should always reflect the love of God. As we are his representatives on earth and because our words can have such a significant impact, we should always speak as if God is right next us. If fact He is, God is always right beside us. If you think you can get away with swearing and other foul language in private, just know that God is always listening and watching over us. We can never hide what we say from Him. Each day, with His help, may we strive to bring glory to God and to live in a way that pleases Him with the words that come out of our mouths. May we speak words of life and truth, that encourage one another and ultimately, point them to Jesus. When people see that we you don’t swear or speak like everyone else, it will show that we are different. As Christians, we don’t want to conform to the way the world speaks, but rather to go against the grain and to speak in such a way that allows people to see the love of God through our lives.

Ephesians 4:29- Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

1 Peter 4:11- “If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God”.

“I wanna speak Your love, not just another noise, oh, I wanna be Your light, I wanna be Your voice…”

Our words have purpose and meaning. They are not meant to be empty and worthless. We have to reveal Jesus to those around us, whether that be at school, work or just walking down the street. I find it quite disheartening listening to other people’s conversations when it seems as though every second word is a swear word. What’s worse is that people will tend to use swear words and other expletives so much that they actually forget how damaging they can be. To me, swearing and using God’s name in vain is just noise. It does nothing but tear others down and God as well. He is saddened when people misuse His name. As God’s people, our speech must be fulfilling and meaningful. As I mentioned before, the words of our mouth must point to Jesus. I pray we can be the light and voice of Jesus in this world everything we say.

Ecclesiastes 10:12- “Words from the mouth of the wise are gracious,
but fools are consumed by their own lips”.

Romans 12:2- “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind”.

“Let the words I say, be the sound of Your grace”

Ultimately, we are saved by the grace of God. Our words should be pleasing to Him, in response to what He has done. God’s grace has saved us, no matter who we are or what we have done, if we have accepted it personally. In the same way, may the words that we speak to other people reflect what He has done in our lives.

Psalm 19:14- “May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart
be pleasing in your sight, Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer”.

Lord, I pray that you will guard our mouths and that we can speak words that honour you above everything else. May we build others up with what we say and not put them down. Help us to remember that our words are a double- edged sword, but I pray we can use the edge which is uplifting and encouraging, that ultimately points to you Lord and what you have done. May people be drawn to you through the things we say, that we can be seen as different to those around us. May we use the gift of speech that comes from you in a wise and helpful manner, to proclaim the truth of what you have done for us. In Jesus’ name.

Let’s praise God with every word that comes from our mouths!

God Bless Faithful Followers,

Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

 

 

7 thoughts on “Words-CCM

  1. Guys, I am sorry this is late. I wasn’t too sure who was on the devotion today but I hope you find this helpful and encouraging.

    God Bless, Josh

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Josh, I really love Words! One of my first Hawk Nelson songs and it is still one of the best!!

      The tongue sure does bring life and death and we should all be careful and show God in every word.

      Your words are always inspiring Josh and it was great to read this devotion!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so wonderful Josh! I am so glad that a topic such as this can be addressed 🙌🏼🙏🏼 I agree with Gad, you have very inspiring words and you do write very well!
    #words
    #clarkie
    #Goddoesitagain

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.