Eye of the Storm- CCM

Eye of the Storm

Hey everyone, today I have to pleasure of talking about some of the best music in the world! Contemporary Christian Music or CCM is praise and worship with contemporary music. I love so many songs it is literally impossible to pick one! I did a lot of thinking and today I will be doing my devotion on one of my current favourite CCM songs, “Eye of the Storm” by Ryan Stevenson

Eye of the Storm- Ryan Stevenson

‘When the solid ground is falling out from underneath my feet, Between the black skies, and my red eyes, I can barely see, When I realise I’ve been sold out by my friends and my family, I can feel the rain reminding me…’ Life is by no means easy and some people struggle and lose hope. It breaks my heart seeing people with no hope and no purpose because I know the Love of Jesus, and I know He loves them to. Ryan sings about the hard times in life where everything seems to be going wrong. These hard times are not fun and we can’t help feel maybe angry or sad. We can feel sold out even by the ones we love the most and this is hard but when we are in these times we need to put our trust in God. Cue one of my favourite verses…

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

We won’t understand everything but we do need to acknowledge that God is far above us and that He holds all of creation in His hand. Surely if we put our trust in God we will pass the hard times with our head held high. God needs to have control over our lives for us to live the best lives possible. All we need is to trust in Him with our everything.

‘…In the eye of the storm, You remain in control, In the middle of the war, You guard my soul, You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn, Your love surrounds me, In the eye of the storm…’
God is in control over everything. In the middle of the biggest storm or right out in the battle field. He is our anchor that we should always hold onto. People often say, “How could a loving God let me suffer?” It is a very hard question but we need to have faith and put our trust in God.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

God has some great plans for your life and my life. We need to trust that His ways are good and just, not relying on our judgement because that’s how we end up in the pain and suffering that we are all familiar with. ‘…When my hopes and dreams are far from me, And I’m runnin’ out of faith, I see the future I picture slowly fade away, And when the tears of pain and heartache, Are pouring down my face, I find my peace in Jesus’ name…’ When we feel crushed by heartache and we can’t see our future anymore we need to acknowledge that God has something better in mind for us. Jeremiah 29:11! Just remember to run to Jesus in the hard times to find hope and peace.

I wasn’t sure which song to pick for today but after yesterday’s horrific day, “Eye of the Storm” just sung to me. CCM is so beautiful because each song is a devotion in itself and they can teach us so much. In hard times there are songs for us and in the great times there are songs for us. Some of you would have heard out the accident at Dream World on the Gold Coast yesterday. When I was listening to “Eye of the Storm” it moved my spirit, mainly this verse…

‘…When they let me go and I just don’t know how I’m gonna make ends meet, I did my best, now I’m scared to death that we might lose everything, when a sickness takes my child away and there’s nothing I can do, MY ONLY HOPE IS TO TRUST YOU…’ It is such a beautiful song that moves me every time. We will sometimes lose everything and we will blame God and say, “Why didn’t you do anything?!” But His plans are greater than anything we could dream of, we just need to trust Him!

Romans 8:28- And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Psalm 34:17- When the righteous cry for help, the LORD hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.

Psalms 42:5- Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation.

Jesus is always there even when things are going wrong. We often forget to find our strength in Jesus and we walk away annoyed that things didn’t work out. That’s why CCM is so good, we look back to Jesus. I want to encourage everyone who is in a time of trial such as exams, stress at work, sickness or anything else to pray and listen to this song. I would also encourage you to all read Job as he was such an upright man and put all his trust in Jesus.

This is why I love music, I only listen to Christian music if you are wondering. The songs can empower you to trust in Jesus and sometimes you realise that you were doing it all wrong. Jesus is the only why and we need to always trust in Him! Proverbs 3:5-6 and Jeremiah 29:11 are super encouraging in times of trial and I use them as my anthem and war cry for everyday of my life.

God I pray for peace and strength to fill anyone in a time of trial. Help us to trust in you. Your ways are always higher, your plans are always greater. I lift my life up to you again and I repent and ask for your love to fill me again. Thank you for your grace.
In Jesus name, Amen.

God Bless you all.

The Faith Filled Friends

15 thoughts on “Eye of the Storm- CCM

    • #bonuscontent

      Hey guys, I have some Bonus Content for all of you who read the comments!

      Psalm 107:29
      NKJV- He calms the storm, So that its waves are still.
      NIV- He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed.
      NLT- He calmed the storm to a whisper and stilled the waves.

      This is a beautiful verse and I think it suits our devotion this morning. So lets have some context…
      Psalm 107:28-32–> Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble, and he brought them out of their distress. He stilled the storm to a whisper; the waves of the sea were hushed. They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven. Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love, and his wonderful deeds for mankind. Let them exalt him in the assembly of the people, and praise him in the council of the elders.

      God is always good. Lets praise His good deeds forever.

      God Bless

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 2 people

  1. No worries Gad 🙂 I love this song man! I felt it was really relevant when you mentioned the incident at Dreamworld yesterday. Let’s continue to pray for all of those involved. This is a very comforting message and it was very well written. No matter what we face, God will always be with us and we have nothing to fear when we put our trust in Him. He is Lord through the storm.

    God Bless,
    Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah when I was listening to my music last night I was thinking about that awful tragedy and when that one verse came on (it’s almost the bridge) I felt my Spirit say, “This is something you need to talk about. I love this song and last night it really spoke to me and I had to do this devotion, I didn’t plan to do this song as a CCM series devotion, I was going to do it next week but after last night I felt like this is why CCM is not just secular music, it can grow you and change you. God speaks through it and it allows people to use their gifts to worship God.

      Songs that can move me and bring me to my knees in tears are some beautiful songs not to be taken lightly. This song did that last night and that is why it is here. It spoke to me and moved me and that is what God can do through Contemporary Christian Music.

      God Bless Josh, and thanks for the feedback.

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

      • That verse is very moving, when you really listen to the lyrics, it is such a powerful song with so much hope and promise from God! So true Gad, CCM is so much more than secular music, it is uplifting and encouraging.

        #let’skeeppumpingouttheCCM

        Liked by 1 person

        • It is all praise to God in the end of the day. God can use anything and I know that some of these CCM songs are incredibly powerful, written by the Holy Spirit. Like I said, God speaks through some unlikely things (Moses- he had a stutter, Saul/Paul- used to kill Christians, Even a Donkey!) and He can also use anything.

          Our God is incredible!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so awesome Gad! God is really speaking through you. I love the scriptures too! Jeremiah 29:11 and Proverbs 3:5-6 are amazing ☺️ Agreed, yesterday’s incident was devastating, I will be praying for those involved. Loving the hashtags guys 🙌🏼🙏🏼 #eyeofthestorm #Goddoesitagain #jesus #whataman #jeremiah29:11 #proverbs3:5-6 🐒

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree, God has really been using those verses and they are super anointed.
      We will all join together and pray for comfort, healing, peace and revelation in their lives.

      I agree so much with that second hashtag! So good!

      One question… What’s with the monkeys?!

      God Bless

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I love this series man. It was nice to hear that good Christian music is appreciated among other people!
    I really like this song. It is so cool.
    Also, what is happening to you? The main man. What is happening with your devotions? When you do it you have some cool songs but I am just wondering.
    And I am still waiting for the jonathanlivs to do another devotion.
    Jeff

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much for all your support Jeff. You have literally been with us from the start, you always have awesome feedback and your taste for music is sweet! 😉

      I don’t know what that last bit is about Jeff. Are you talking to me? The main man? I really don’t know what is happening to my devotions. My favourite songs are often my least favourite devotions. Because I write them from me, not God.

      I am also waiting for Jono to return. He is our secret weapon, or special treat. So stay tuned for his next devotion because you never know when it will hit! The time gap has been about the same time from his first to his second devotion so… you never know! 😉

      God Bless Jeff!

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey man, I see how you took it the wrong way when I commented. I meant I was missing your devotions. you have been doing much least so I was asking where you were. We all like your devotions, the songs you pick are cool.
        Don’t worry about your devotions. I say your comment on that Throwback devo man. God calls you so you go. It isn’t for your glory. keep up the good stuff
        Yeah man. I hope jonathanlivs does another soon. we all love his style man.
        Jeff

        Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.