Best Of Me

Best Of Me

Hey Faithful Followers, today we have another devotion and it’s going to get crazy! I have been given a song that is quite different to all the other songs that we have used so far in our devotions. That by no way means it’s a bad song, frankly, I think it’s a terrific song! So let’s get our hearts prepared and read this devotion with a heart of expectancy. God has some great wisdom to share.

Jordan Feliz is an amazing artist who is very new to the world of Contemporary Christian Music. His smash hit single, “The River” put him on the map. Jordan released his first full length album this year titled, “The River”. It contains some amazing music and never has a dull moment. One of these great tracks is “Best Of Me” and it took me by surprise. God has had a lot to say about this topic in the past few weeks, and it has finally reached The Faith Filled Friends.

Best Of Me- Jordan Feliz

We are all human and we make mistakes and we all have bad days. I know that some days I seem to be so much better than other days and I am sure my family and friends could confirm that. But when we have Jesus, even when we hit rock bottom we can still turn around and end up at the top of the mountain in a matter of minutes. The Holy Spirit grows the Fruits of the Spirit inside of us allowing us to live more like Jesus and to be a better version of ourselves. Galatians 5:22-23 “But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!”

‘…Givin’ me a reason, Givin’ life a meaning, Givin’ out hope, that’s what You do, All I ever needed, All I ever wanted, All that I seek is found in You…’ These lyrics are sung in the pre-chorus and are very powerful. When we meet Jesus our lives suddenly have meaning and we gain a reason to live. Jesus loves us and when we know that we are changed as we try to love like Jesus loved. Jesus went to the cross and He gave us hope and a future, we should never forget this.

Romans 8:5
Those who live according to the flesh have their mind set on what the flesh desires. Those who live according to the Spirit have their mind set on what the spirit desires.

We are human and we will stuff up in our life, but when we are filled with the Holy Spirit we stop chasing after the things of this world and start chasing after things that are eternal. So what does your flesh desire? What does the Holy Spirit desire? How can we set our minds on the desires of the Spirit? We need to ask God for His strength to flow into us in the weak moments when we feel like absolute trash. We are priceless in His eyes. Jesus went through so much not to just save some trash but to save the things that He loves so much.

How do we become a better version of ourselves through Christ? Other than being filled by the Spirit and chasing after God’s desires we can go to God and ask for help. We need to pray daily seeking God in the morning and seeking Him at night. We need to hunger for Him when we are stuck in the valleys and we need to rejoice in Him when we are on top of the mountains. The more time we spend with God the more we will start to reflect Him to our friends and our families. It’s like the light analogy that I shared in a previous devotion. We need to look at the light so we see the love of Christ in others.

2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV):
“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

Jesus has forgiven us and made us new. If you read Acts you will read about Paul who was previously Saul. He used to hunt down Christians and kill them but Jesus changed His heart. Soon Paul was being stoned and persecuted for following Jesus. From being so anti-God he became one of the most dedicated followers because Jesus changed him. He can change us too. I know I am not perfect as I am, but what would I be without Jesus? I can’t even begin to imagine life without Him because He gives my life meaning and a purpose. Only Jesus has shaped me and He is still working on me, thank goodness!

Psalm 119:105 (NKJV): “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.” Let God direct your path for He is the creator of the universe and He knows what is best for you. With Him you will start to shine and grow and all the people around you will see this change and acknowledge the power of God in you.

‘…You got my heart flyin’ up in the clouds, Lifting me up high above my doubts, Living in Your presence, now I can see, Only You bring out the best of me…’ The chorus is the last part I want to talk about. When we surrender to Jesus and give Him Everything then we begin to live the best life. We need to start trusting in God, that His ways are higher than ours and that His plans are greater than ours. Let’s start giving everything to God because He is the one that makes us into the best version of ourselves.

Proverbs 3:5-6
5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
6 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

‘…Your Love inspires, takes me higher. In You I find the best of me, You make me stronger, I’m a fighter. In You I find the best of me.’ Amen to that!

God Bless you all.

The Faith Filled Friends

12 thoughts on “Best Of Me

  1. I really hope this message speaks out to you. No matter what you’ve done God forgives you and loves you. He is like a father who loves his child so much. He loves his child so much it is almost impossible to love the child any more. But the father doesn’t want his child to stay the same. He wants his child to learn and grow, and although he sees them as perfect already and can’t love them any more he still wants them to grow. God wants us to live our best lives. Even though he can’t love us any more He still wants us to grow and to learn. In God we find the best of us. I don’t know what kind of person I would be without Him, and I am still not perfect now with Him. I know that through God I can be a better person and the best me possible.

    Today, don’t be ashamed of God and of who you are. Live like you’re loved and live like you’re perfect. God calls you worth it and He died to set you free. No matter what we face today, rise up in faith and in love. Be the best you, calling on God in your weakness and when you seem to be going well.

    Proverbs 3:5-6 has been talked about a lot in these past days. Meditated on what it means to you and how you can trust God in everything. We encourage you to go back and look at some of our older devotions. There are pearls in there that God has given and it could change your life and help you grow into the best you. Personally I have been reading some of our older devotions and a few have really spoken to me, so I encourage you to draw into God. Place your trust in Him because He never fails and His love never ends.

    Before I go I really feel like we need to ask ourselves this question everyday. ‘What if I gave EVERYTHING?’ This is a very important question that will bring out the best in us.

    God Bless you all,

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry it was pretty much another devotion in a comment.
      I also want to apologise for my devotions in the past few days. I don’t know how good they have been but I haven’t been too happy with the work I produced. Mainly because I feel that ‘I’ wrote them. But I will be pressing into God again for His ways are far above my ways.

      God Bless
      And thanks for all the support!

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

      • Please don’t be sorry Gad!! Your devotions have been inspired by God! When you ask Him to lead you to speak His words and not your own, His Holy Spirit will inspire you and place His words on your heart.

        Know that God can always use whatever we have, no matter what we may think. God is always on the move!

        Keep leaning into God my friend!

        God Bless,
        Josh

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yeah I know. I just felt like my devotions haven’t been as great as before. Well, since “What If Gave Everything”. But I know that God can use the smallest and most unlikely things. I did just talk about Paul today. So I know I can leave it in God’s hands.

          I will not slow down though. I know it’s the devil trying to make me slow and stop but I will press on. Jeremiah 29:11! Proverbs 3:5-6

          Liked by 1 person

    • Amen Gad! God brings out the best in us! I can’t imagine life without God either. He gives us meaning and purpose and we must put all our hope and trust in Him because He WILL makes our paths straight, just as Proverbs 3:5-6 says. A wonderful and encouraging devotion Gad, keep going and relying on God!

      God Bless,

      Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.