What If I Gave Everything

What If I Gave Everything

‘All my life I longed to be a hero…‘ This is the opening line in the song and it grabbed me straight away. This song must have been written from my point of view. Ever since I was young I ever so desperately longed to be a hero and save the day.

Hello everyone, it is just me again with another devotion for all of you. Today will be quite different from my recent devotions, being far away from hardships and pain in life as I will be focusing today’s devotion on the absolutely inspiring and insane Casting Crowns song, “What If I Gave Everything”. I have only heard this song recently but it is one of my favourite songs from their new album- which is really great.- So let’s get started!

What If I Gave Everything- Casting Crowns

As I have already discussed the opening of “What If I Gave Everything” I think we should get into some details. ‘All my life I longed to be a hero, My sword raised high, running to the battle, I was going to take giants down, Be a man you would write about, Deep in my chest is the heart of a warrior…’ This first verse has enough content for a whole devotion but I am covering the song so I will make this quick! I am sure we have all wanted to be a hero, saving our friends and looking awesome. I have and still do. I aspire to be like my hero, Jesus Christ. He gave up His life, suffering the most horrific and painful death to save me. What did I do to deserve this gracious love? Nothing. This is why Jesus is the greatest hero of all time, His sacrifice will be remembered for eternity and I will always be grateful. As humans we all aspire to be this hero that people would talk of and look up to. But we often think that is childish and that we grow out of it. It is clearly not true looking at how well action movies do, like the Marvel films. Casting Crowns sings about this, ‘…Deep in my chest is the heart of a warrior…’ We all have the heart of a warrior, of a hero. It is not something we grow out of but rather push aside. This life can get hard and our dreams and aspirations get crushed and shut down but we must remember that God is in us!

‘…So why am I still standing here, Why am I still holding back from You, I hear You call me out into deeper waters, But I settle on the shallow end, So why am I still standing here…’ We often ask ourselves this question of why. We get inspired by the good news but we don’t seem to get motivated. We don’t seem to live with action in our life, love is clearly action but we don’t move. Why do we hold back from God? As Christians we can get comfortable in where we are and when Jesus calls we ask Him to hold and work around us. We ask for God to use us but we don’t want to get dirty. Sometimes we just have to get up and move! There are millions of zombies on the planet, walking dead. These people have no hope or future and we are afraid of what they might say to us! Frankly, I don’t care anymore, they don’t know what they’re missing and I refuse for them to miss out because I was a coward. God calls us to different places and to help different people, but we settle in the shallow end, not digging into God’s true plans and His true purpose.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

If we truly trust in God, surely we should trust His plans. God told us that His plans will not harm us but give us a hope and a future. Let His will be done in you, it is the best thing you could do. ‘…So afraid what it might cost to follow You, I’d walk by faith if I could get these feet to move, But I don’t want to live that way, I don’t want to look back someday, On a life that never stepped across the line…’ We can often face fears in life and we start to doubt. Let me tell you that we only fear and doubt when we look away from God and look at the waves. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me! Philippians 4:13. Stop looking at the situation and fix your eyes on Jesus. He will lead you and guide you if you allow Him to, so let’s put all our faith in Him. Like Casting Crowns said in the song, ‘…I don’t want to look back someday, On a life that never stepped across the line…’ Would you be proud of yourself if you never stepped out and stood for Jesus? I know I wouldn’t and I am really asking God for His strength now. We all want to be that hero in our heart, saving lives and being so courageous. We can all be heroes, saving lives for Jesus! God gives us the strength and faith to bring our friends to His love but we have got to stop standing here!

In the second time the chorus plays there are some extra lyrics. The lyrics are, ‘…You’ve given me a faith that can move a mountain, But I’m still playing in the sand, Building little kingdoms that’ll never stand…’ We can often find ourselves sitting back where it is comfortable when we have the same power that rose Jesus from the grave living inside us! We can move mountains, walk on water, heal the sick and take back this world for Jesus! I believe we can save lives when we just place all we are in Jesus.

‘…I’m so tired of standing here, What if I gave everything to You…’ What if I gave everything? What could go wrong when I give everything? I am placing my life in God’s hands so He can use me as He pleases. That could mean your life gets pretty uncomfortable, but why do we need comfort? Jesus didn’t find those nails in His hands and feet comfortable but He went through it because it was God’s will! He was beaten and faced unimaginable pain just to save my life!? Living for Jesus is sweet, but living your whole life for Jesus will have it’s trails and it will take you far out your comfort zone. But that’s when we need to ask ourselves, what would Jesus do.

‘…What if I gave everything, What if I stopped holding back from You, Starting now I’m stepping out onto deeper waters, What if I gave everything, What if I stopped holding back from You, Starting now I’m stepping out onto deeper waters, I want to see some mountains move…’ What if we gave our lives to Jesus and stopped holding back? I can tell you, we will live our best lives and not only will our lives be better but others will be effected by us. Lives will be changed when we surrender to Jesus! Starting now we need to take a deep breath and go for it. Go deeper, push harder and give everything. God’s ways are above our own, so if we give Jesus everything, we are going to live like never before!

The song says ‘Everything’ quite a lot. When we give everything to Jesus that means EVERYTHING! We can often try to fit Jesus into our little boxes saying what areas Jesus can have. We have got to stop that and give everything to Jesus! Every area of your life, your social life, your work, your study, your free time, your sin. Open up to God and let Him change you. I know I have tried to keep certain things to myself and keep them away from God. We think if God has control over all our life we will become some crazy, different person. Yes, we will be different, in the best way possible.

Romans 12:1-2
So brothers and sisters, since God has shown us great mercy, I beg you to offer your lives as a living sacrifice to him. Your offering must be only for God and pleasing to him, which is the spiritual way for you to worship. Do not be shaped by this world; instead be changed within by a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to decide what God wants for you; you will know what is good and pleasing to him and what is perfect.

Giving our lives to Jesus seems like a risky thing but we have nothing to lose. He is the creator of the universe, He doesn’t make mistakes, but we do. So why do we trust ourselves more than God? It’s a lie that the devil feeds us to try keep us away from Jesus, but when we give our lives to Jesus we will know what is good and pleasing to Him. This world won’t change us if we are found in Jesus.

This reminds me of the Colton Dixon song, “Echo” which has the lyrics ‘…No I don’t just wanna fall in love with You, I wanna be an echo…’ At first, to someone who doesn’t pay attention these lyrics could sound like a secular love song, but it’s far from it. We love Jesus but we don’t want it to just stay there because if we really love Him we will want to be like Him and shine His light. We are where God has put us, most of the time, so when we live out our lives we want to reach the lost and broken all around us. When we read our bibles and listen to praise and worship and pray daily we will start to echo God’s words and God’s love to those around us. We won’t just stand here any longer as we can make a difference even if it just means we change some of our habits. The Holy Spirit will stir their souls but love is action and when we are with God we can’t help but love. When we give Jesus our everything we become an echo of who Jesus is. We need to give Jesus all that we are, our EVERYTHING and become like Jesus, loving and shining to the world around us. We become an echo of who Jesus was and what He said, this will change lives!

Luke 14:33
So therefore, any one of you who does not renounce all that he has cannot be my disciple.
‘…What if I gave everything…’ We need to give everything to actually become a disciple of God. If we hold back and hold onto areas of our lives how are we supposed to be “followers”? We aren’t followers if we don’t surrender everything up to God.
Matthew 6:33
But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.
Holding back means we aren’t seeking God’s kingdom first but instead our own lives and possessions. Giving it all to God to follow Him means you have a heart that is focused on heaven and that is where it’s supposed to be. ‘…What if I stopped holding back from You, Starting now I’m stepping out onto deeper waters, I want to see some mountains move…‘ Let God take care of your life, He is the God of the Impossible and He cares for you so much. His ways are always higher than ours. Lets step out and start making a difference on this planet! We are all Sons and Daughters of God and I know that I want to make Him proud. The dead need to be brought to life and God has called you and I to do it.

‘…Ready to give everything,
Say goodbye to standing here.’
I am tired of backing down and holding back! Today, I am saying goodbye to all the doubt and fear that keep me standing still! I am ready to go, to make a move for Jesus. I give all I am to Him because I trust Him and I know He makes me the best me possible. He has the best plan for my life and I want to give all I am to Him! Are you going to join me?

The Faith Filled Friends

6 thoughts on “What If I Gave Everything

  1. I pray you all enjoy it!

    Verse on my heart:
    Matthew 6:1
    “Be careful not to practice your righteousness in front of others to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.”

    Don’t try and show how great you are to the world, God already knows. Be humble and let God fill your life.

    God Bless

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great devotion Gad! It is so true! We must give all we are to God to allow Him to use us for His ways.

    I was reminded of the song ‘Christ Is Enough’- the lyrics- “I have decided to follow Jesus, no turning back, the cross before me, the world behind me”.

    It is exciting to see how God will use us if we give everything. Jesus reminds us that to follow Him, we must take up our cross daily. We have to put the death the things of this world- to give it all away. How much better is it to have everything in Jesus than this world!

    I also love the new Casting Crowns album ‘The Very Next Thing’, there are so many awesome songs on there!

    God Bless,

    Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Disponemos de asistencia técnica en reparacion de lavadoras, reparacion de lavavajillas, reparacion de secadoras, reaparacion de hornos y vitroceramicas, reparacion cocinas, reparacion frigorificos, reparacion microondas, reparacion campanas y termos. Todas las reparaciones de nuestros servicio tecnicos de electrodomesticos en Madrid están garantizadas por escrito y cuentan con una garantía de desde 3 meses. Basándonos en nuestra gran experencia y teniendo en cuenta la gran competencia en reparación de electrodomésticos ofrecemos precios y garantías atractivos, procurando que el cliente nunca pague dos veces por el mismo problema.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.