Control

Control- Tenth Avenue North

(I apologise for the inconvenience, for some reason, because the video is from Vevo, it doesn’t play on our website. When you click play on the video, click the “watch on Youtube” link to listen to the song for today’s devotion).

Good Morning Faith Filled Friends! Today’s devotion is based on the Tenth Avenue North song ‘Control’ from their new album ‘Followers’. The album has not been released yet, but this song is among a few other songs that have been pre-released. Listening to this track makes me even more excited for this album’s release! I can’t wait!

The challenge with these daily devotions is that there are always so many fantastic songs to choose from! We never have the problem of not having enough songs! So while preparing for today’s devotion, I had lots of songs on my list. I didn’t come across ‘Control’ until I was doing a little bit of research. But let me tell you, I am so glad that I did as I believe God can speak to people through the words of this amazing song.

As humans, we like to be in control. We like to have everything within our influence. Often this mindset can lead to feelings of anxiety or even anger if things don’t go the way we hoped they would. There are also lots of things we try and to control but in reality, we don’t have any control at all. As followers of God, we shouldn’t try to control things by ourselves. More often than not, things will get too much for us! Even before we become overwhelmed, we should give all of these things to God, laying them down at the foot of the cross. The opening verse talks about giving over what we are to God- to be in His control; “Here I am, all my intentions, all my obsessions, I wanna lay them all down”. When we come to Jesus, we don’t have to shoulder these things any longer, or be in control of them. He promises to take care of these things for us. When we find ourselves in situations where we feel like we are loosing control, take the time to stop and remember the God who controls all- the ocean waves, the stars in the sky and all there is.

Psalm 46:10- “He says, “Be still, and know that I am God”

“Oh, God, You don’t need me, but somehow You want me, oh, how You love me, somehow that frees me, to open my hands up and give You control, I give You control…” These lyrics from the chorus are all about God’s love, the love that sets us free from our problems. God’s love for us allows us to step out of the driver’s seat and into the backseat, where God takes up position in the driver’s seat. We are given His grace as a gift, not through our own efforts. God wants us to be followers of Him, not to continue in our sin and to face His wrath as a result. Rather, the Lord desires for us to grow in His ways, becoming more like Him each day. Like the lyrics say; “You don’t need me, but somehow You want me”. We need God for salvation, there is no other way. He does not need us. But He wants us to follow Him. The freedom we receive through God’s forgiveness allows us to give Him control in all aspects of our lives. Since God has payed the price for us through His death, doesn’t He deserve ultimate control of our lives? Jesus sets us free through His death, He also has the ability to set us free from our problems when we give them to Him.

John 8:36- “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed”

“I’ve had plans shattered and broken, things I have hoped in, fall through my hands, you have plans to redeem and restore me, you’re behind and before me, oh, help me believe” Just after the chorus, this is one of my favourite verses of the song. So often we have our plans set out perfectly in our minds. Sometimes things will go to plan, other times they will not. Just know that whatever the outcome, whether things come together or not, God is in control. Whatever the plans, even if they shatter and break into a million pieces, if the things you rely on don’t come through, God has something so much greater planned! That is exciting. Our plans might be the same as God’s at times, other times they may not be. Whatever the outcome, it is important to submit to God’s will. It can be hard to do at times, when what God has in store for us isn’t what we had in store for ourselves. This applies to all areas of our lives; whether it’s dating and relationships, finding a job or a house or whatever the situation may be. Seek God’s Will in everything because He has incredible things planned for each and every one of us. With God in control, anything is possible. All we have to do is trust Him.

Proverbs 3:5-6- Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Jeremiah 29:11-For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Praise God He is in control! Our instincts tell us that we need to have everything in check. More often that not, that is easier said than done. Our plans fall apart, the things we have our hope in crumble to pieces. May we submit to God and His Will, acknowledging Him in all our ways, that He is in full control of our lives. May we also be excited and look forward to what The Lord has in store for our lives! His ways are so much higher and greater than ours. So today and always, give God full control of your life, no matter what circumstances you may be facing.

Prayer thought: Heavenly Father, we give you control of our lives, you payed the price and have to right to own our lives, not us. These lives we live are not our own. Thank you we can come and rest at your feet. Thank you for your love always watching over us, steering our lives in the direction you want. May you be at the forefront of our lives. We pray your Will be done. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

God bless,

Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

13 thoughts on “Control

  1. Great stuff Josh.

    I will see what I can do about the video. It should be fine but I really don’t know. I may know how some things work, but God knows how all things work.

    Great devotion Josh. You are so good at these. I can’t wait for your next one. (Tenth Av is awesome!)

    God Bless

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah it is inspiring to read devotions like this one. God can use us… we just need to give everything to Him!

      And I am very happy, I hadn’t heard this song before! You even impressed me Josh! You are amazing.
      God Bless

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s awesome to hear Gad! That’s so true, when we give all we are to Him, he uses us for His amazing purposes!

        Wow, that’s exciting! I only came across this song the other day myself and it has a wonderful message so I through it would be a great song to cover. What’s more, it’s from the new Tenth Ave album.

        Thanks Gad,
        God Bless

        Josh

        Liked by 1 person

        • That’s alright Gad 😉 I’m not sure why, I thought I clicked the ‘reply’ button on her comment but maybe I didn’t. I’m glad you find some humour in it!!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Gad! You got the video to work as well, good job! I’m glad you enjoyed the devotion and yes, Tenth Avenue North are a great band! I am looking forward to their new album!

    God Bless,

    Josh

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I only heard this song for the first time on Saturday. I was busy getting the video to work that I only heard the first few seconds of the song. But I was recommended it when I went to listen to “Every Giant Will Fall” on YouTube. But when I clicked it, it didn’t even sound that familiar, but I did recognise it and it was clearly a Tenth Av song, am I right? Anyway, as the song went on it stirred up in me and I can now say it is one of my current favourite songs.

    Like I said, I always seem to reset my ‘songs to do’ list on the weekend. God always gives me new songs that I fall in love with over a weekend and songs that I was planning to do a devotion on.This is like “Every Giant Will Fall”, “Best of Me” (it was on my to do list last year but on the weekend it was renewed) and the last song to mention would be “Control” but this is the control devotion. But its great!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.