Pray

Good morning everyone! Welcome to another week here at Faith Filled Friends! It’s Josh here today and I am looking forward to delving into another devotion with you. This time, based on the song ‘Pray’ by Sanctus Real. This song was released in 2013 as part of the ‘Run’ album. It is a wonderful song, focusing upon the power of prayer. There is a clear message running through the song about the need to pray. It is how we share our needs, struggles, desires and hopes with our Heavenly Father. The amazing truth about prayer is that we don’t need to do anything special. We can come to God and talk to Him just as we are. Whether we’re sitting in an exam or enjoying a swim in the ocean, all we have to do is talk to Him. Anytime, anyplace!

When we face difficulties in life, as Christians our first resort should be to pray, rather than being our last resort. When we find ourselves facing things that are greater than us, when we feel like we are being pushed to the very limit, may we come to the feet of Jesus for strength and guidance. We are pleading for God to take the weight of these hardships of our shoulders and He promises to do just that! The opening lyrics of the song talk about this; I bow my head to pray, I don’t know what to say, I’m not sure how to fix the things I’m dealing with I’m in a desperate place, I need to share the weight But I just don’t know how, to let it all pour out Though I’m silent, my heart is crying ‘Cause I was made to come to You’.

Philippians 4:6- “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God”.

An amazing thing about prayer is that God already knows what we need before we pray! Why do we need to pray then? You may ask. The reason is because prayer shows our dependence on God. If we never prayed about anything it would immediately assume we could do everything by ourselves. The reality is we cannot! God knows our hearts better than anyone else and He loves it when we pray. The second verse talks about how God knows us so well; You know my heart, You know my need, you know every part of me’

Jesus encourages us to pray- not like the pagans who believe they will be heard because of the many words they use.  Fancy words are not necessary. God will still listen! Christianity is all about a relationship with God and prayer is one of the best ways to grow the relationship between you and God.

Matthew 6:7-8- “And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him”.

In our busy lives, it can be difficult to find time to talk to God. If our prayer life suffers, so can our relationship with God. We need to create time each day, praying when you wake up and when you go to bed is a great way to remember to work prayer into your day. Over time, it becomes more of a joy, rather than a habit to pray and you will find yourself wanting to spend time with God in prayer. It is a time between you and God. The Lord loves it when we take the time to talk to Him. He is always ready to hear us. I failed to find the time, but You’ve been calling out, I let the days go by as if I could live without, but it’s gotta be here now, I won’t be pulled away ‘Cause it’s just You and I, so let the world around us fade’.

Prayer is such an incredible privilege. To be able to come before the King of Kings, the creator of the universe, just as we are, is awesome! No matter what, whether in joy or sorrow, we can speak to Him! When we pray, His spirit fills us with joy and peace- an amazing reminder of His presence in us. 1 John 5 talks about the assurance we have in our prayers- that we can be sure God hears us. We may not always get the answer we hope for. It may be yes, no, or wait. But whatever it may be, we must remember that God’s Will is supreme.

1 John 5:14-15-“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. 15 And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him”.

‘I surrender, lay it down (Father), and every time I close my eyes, I know that I was made to lift my hands and pray, I lift my hands and pray’.

These lyrics from the third last verse of the song talk about coming to God in prayer in complete surrender. Prayer is our opportunity to give to God all that is on our hearts and minds. We were created to have a relationship with God, prayer being one of the best ways to grow this relationship, along with growing in God’s word. So may the words in this verse encourage you to come to the feet of Jesus, offering all that is burdening you to Him- to lift our hands to Him and pray.

Prayer is an amazing gift from God. He is willing to listen to what we have to say, no matter how big or small, everything matters to God. Today, may we not just come to God when we’ve hit the wall and have run out of options, come to Him in the joyful times as well. He knows our heart and our needs and how amazing that is! Never underestimate the power of prayer, faithful prayers are powerful weapons against the evils of this world. Make the time to approach the Lord in prayer today. Do not worry if you can’t find the right words to say. The Holy Spirit inside of us will help us as it says in Romans 8:26- “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans”.

Jesus taught in His time on earth, how important it was to pray. He taught us the Lord’s prayer. It doesn’t mean we have to pray with these words exactly, it just gives us a structure to refer to. It is a beautiful prayer to remind ourselves of.

 

I pray today’s message is an encouragement to you.

God bless,

Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

 

 

11 thoughts on “Pray

  1. Hahaha! Yeah you are right Josh, it was a short one! Na, seriously, I could read your devotions all day! I love “Pray” and Sanctus Real. I first heard “Pray” on the Wow Hits, it’s awesome!

    Great stuff Josh, the scriptures are fabulous. You have such wisdom

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yeah we always need to go to God first. He knows us so well but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t pray! You said that really well in the devotion and it reminded me of a quote from Joel Smallbone of ‘for King & Country’. He said, “…finding the truest version of yourself by knowing the one who knows you even better, than you know yourself” And it’s true! If we connect with Jesus we will become the best us possible, because he knows you better than you do! Crazy cool.

    God Bless, thanks Josh

    Liked by 3 people

    • That is so true Gad!

      I love that quote from Joel Smallbone!

      It is amazing! God knows us inside out! He knows everything there is to know about us. So cool!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Caitlin! Much appreciated. The Lord layed those scriptures on my heart as I was doing the devotion, It’s so amazing when they just come to mind like that! I really like Romans 8:26 myself.

      I’m looking forward to your next devotion Caitlin!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Jeff,

      I agree but like Jeremiah 29:11 says, God has all the plans and He holds the future. I am sure Sanctus Real will still make epic music. But yeah it will take awhile to get used to the new voice! 20 years of Sanctus Real next year. AWESOMENESS!

      God Bless

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Like

  3. It is a shame. But yes I agree with you, God can still use them for His purposes. Thanks for your support Jeff.

    Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.