Losing- HARD LOVE

Losing

Hey all the Faithful Followers reading today’s devotion. Before I start I just want to say thank you for all the support. We are so blessed to have such a great group of people following this website. God has given us this opportunity and we are so grateful for it! We may be young but, long live the young at heart, we can make a big difference even though we are young. I encourage every person, young or old, push into God daily because He will bless you and give you amazing opportunities to make a difference. If you surround yourself with good people full of integrity and who love God, then you will grow and develop into stronger men and women in Christ. 1 Corinthians 15:33- Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.” To grow in God and become the best you possible, surround yourself with good God fearing friends, pray daily giving thanks to the Lord! I thank God you all you and my crew at The Faith Filled Friends for being great friends! God bless you all. Now back to the real devotion.

This is a Sunday Sessions which means I do a devotion and at the end I recommend three songs to you that relate to the devotion. Well today will be different but I hope you all get blessed from this and I pray it helps you grow your faith. Like I always say, please read the devotion, listen to the songs but then don’t just leave it! Please go and meditate on the words God has said, go pray and read your Bible. Allow God’s spirit to stir up in you today!

Today’s devotion will be about loss, as you probably would have guessed by that amazing none spoiler title! In life we all lose, whether it’s a game, a race, a toy, a phone or even your child at the shops (that child was always me!). In life if we know one thing it means there is an opposite, like saying something is good you must first know what bad is. Or if you say that’s hot, you must know cold. So if you lose a race or a game just know if you won the other people would have lost. It’s just how it works, you need to lose for others to win, and the best example ever would be Jesus himself giving up His life so we could live, so we could win! Loss is normal, we have to remember this and ask for help. If pride gets in the way we can often not seek help and more damage is done. The minute trouble hits run to God because you matter to Him, you are worth so much that He was willing to die for you, so I am sure He is so excited to help you out when you call to him.

God I pray for this devotion, only you can save these lives. It’s not in my hands or my nice writing but only in you! Please speak through me God, teach these people reading about things you want to teach them. Let your will be done and your will only! All the glory goes to you God! I am working for you only God like Colossians 3:23 says. So Holy Spirit please come and ignite hearts and souls today! Amen!

Sunday Sessions

HARD LOVE: Losing

Losing

 

Losing- Tenth Avenue North

I know we have talked about Tenth Avenue North a few times before, (around three devotions) but this song fits perfectly with this theme of loss. ‘I can’t believe what she said… I can’t believe what he did…’ Life isn’t always easy and people don’t always treat us nicely. It is often thought that being a Christian is easier than not being a Christian. I don’t believe this is true, and I am not saying being a Christian is bad because it is the best life to live, but I am saying we face more challenges. People may mock you for being a Christian or maybe you have to have more self control. As a Christian you must watch your tongue and your actions, speaking life with no swear words and also looking like love in the things we do.

The devil will be hunting you down as a Christian and he will want to drag you down to the grave with him. Jesus saved us all from the grave already, whether we choose to accept it or not is another story. Becoming a Christian is great and you feel a joy and a happiness that you can’t find anywhere else! You finally have a meaning and a purpose, you know that you are loved. But you have to give up the ways of the flesh. All the things you did before you found Jesus have to go, whether it’s swearing, anger, lust, hate, jealousy or even things like alcoholism and getting into fights. Becoming a Christian literally means becoming a follower of Jesus. You have to let go of these old ways and people often feel like they are missing out as they done hang out with certain people as they seek good company. But if it means following Jesus and living in eternity with Him I would do it in a heartbeat. So today, try grow some integrity, ask God for help in certain areas of sin, like anger or control over your tongue.

In life we have choices, it’s not all some coincidence or anything like that. Tenth Avenue North cover this in a line for the pre-chorus, ‘This is love, this is hate… We all have a choice to make…’ We all have a choice to make. Let’s not pretend we don’t. God gave Adam and Eve a choice, they chose evil. Jesus died and gave us the choice of eternity with Him but people will still chose the wrong path it is very sad but we should love on them no matter what, because in the end it’s all about who you know. Luke 13:27- But he will reply, “I don’t know you or where you come from. Away from me, all you evildoers!” In the end it was one choice that could cause our friends to suffer greatly,  ‘This is love, this is hate…’ We have both aspects but we need to choose love. To love people who don’t love us back is hard but we need to show them God’s love through what we say and what we do. ‘… Seventy times seven times… ‘Cause Lord it doesn’t feel right… For me to turn a blind eye… Though I guess it’s not that much… When I think of what You’ve done.’ We are told to forgive unconditionally and the song even says what we are thinking, it doesn’t seem right or fair! But think of all the love Jesus has given you, He was beaten and tortured and killed for you, for us! And we still stuff up, so if we think of how much He forgives us, it shouldn’t be that hard to forgive others.

‘… Oh Father, give me grace to forgive them, they don’t know what they’ve been doing…’ This is a line in the chorus that is based off Jesus’ words on the cross as He was beaten and tortured. Christian are sometimes persecuted for their beliefs, and people are being persecuted right now! All the disciples where persecuted and killed for their belief in Jesus but that is the challenge of being a follower of Christ. You will feel like you are losing and that everything is against you, but God is by your side, through thick and thin! We need to ask God for grace to forgive the people who treat us poorly and make us hurt. What would Jesus Do? Remember that He always loves. Remember to equip yourself with the Armour of God!

Ephesians 6:14-17
Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the shoes of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the Sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Without You

 

Without You- for King & Country
(There is a short intro with some context so please listen and enjoy)

This is such a beautiful song, and it makes me emotional every time I listen to it. I can’t help but think about my loved ones, my family and my friends, and I think about losing them. It is so so raw and very touching, but yet so beautiful and so moving. for King & Country are one of my favourite bands and I love everything that they do. The music is awesome and the music videos are the best and I can’t wait for the “Priceless” movie! It will be awesome!

Life can hit hard, not only with mean words or losing a race or your phone, but it can smash you health and your friends health. I haven’t been to well for the past few days but I got prayer and I prayed intently myself and I received a miracle. Earlier this year I went through another patch where I was literally falling apart, it was right before the first semester exams. The enemy has come to kill, steal and destroy, but we need to take heart and find our strength in God. He is our strength in hard times and He is our healer. Cast every fear and worry to the Lord, if you have any pain or sickness today God is ready to heal you for He is your loving Father! Just go to him with faith and you will have a breakthrough in your health. Psalms 30:2- LORD my God, I called to You for help, and You healed me.

I have been reading through Psalms and I have a few versus to share with you all. If hard times hit your family or your friends or even you remember to not blame God but run to God. He will bring healing and recovery! He is my recovery and He is my rock, He is gentle and helpful yet strong and powerful at the same time. Pray to God when you just can’t. -When it’s hardest to pray, pray hardest- This is a nice little line I really love. Let no sickness and pain separate you from God, because all of it comes from the wicked one.

Psalms 29:11
The Lord gives His people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.

God will give you the strength to get through the struggles. He has eternal peace that surpasses all understanding! Place all your hope and trust in Him and you will be renewed with strength, peace and love! Equip the Armour of God and let no sickness or pain hurt you and your loved ones!

Beauty Will Rise

 

Beauty Will Rise- Steven Curtis Chapman

This song was written after the death of Steven Curtis Chapman’s daughter. He sings about that very day he lost her, all the sadness, all the pain. This devotion has covered losing material possessions, losing your past self and sickness. This is the final part of the losing theme, loss of a life.

Life is one our most precious gifts given to us from God. We must not take advantage of this gift, we need to live free and run wild in faith living like we have purpose and love, because we do. Even when the world goes horribly wrong, we need to remember that God is in control and that he holds it all! Jeremiah 29:11- “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” God is in control of every life on this planet, and as we have discussed before in the ‘Throwback Thursday special- Where I Belong’. This is not where we belong, there is more after death, we get to meet with the author of humanity, God the creator who conceived us! All loss needs to be given to God, no matter how silly it may seem or how humbling it may be. God will help us through all of these pains and hope will return, ‘… Beauty will rise…’ when we give it us to the Lord.

Psalm 23:6
Surely Your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.

Looking at the Psalms has been great and I encourage you, if you are having a hard time reading the Bible, try looking at Proverbs, Psalms and the New Testament (maybe avoid Revelations for a start!). This verse jump out at me and I felt the Holy Spirit say, “That’s a great verse to use for a devotion about Hard Love,” and I was so pumped. God is so good and He IS love. Like I said before, if there is one thing there is an opposite, God is love and without God, that is not love, that’s hate, envy, sadness and all sorts of pain! Without God people have no hope on this planet, I would be willing to lay down my life for my friends, my family and God because I know I have a hope in eternity. ‘I will live in the house of the Lord forever.’ We will live with God forever, don’t fear and don’t doubt that God isn’t protecting you because Jesus already gave you the ultimate protection, it was through the cross that He gave us all the key to eternal life.

If you are struggling with pain from loss, don’t harden your heart towards God because He is love and once you block Him out you can’t love anymore. He brings healing and restoration fixing everything that has damaged you, His child. God knows the plans He has made for you, don’t let the devil whisper lies into your ears telling you if God was love why didn’t he stop it. God knows all things and sometimes bad things happen and that is not done by Him, but rather the sin in all of our lives since that first bite from that forbidden fruit. Like Steven Curtis Chapman, try allow God to bring His healing and comfort, spring is coming, God’s healing will come and remove all the pain, just fill your heart with hope.

Jesus I pray no one reading this will suffer such loss, as it does hurt. We will run to you for healing, and to you alone. Jesus please protect us from the sin and the destruction in this world. Heal us from any sickness and any pain. God I believe your angels are protecting us as our lives are miracles. God help us to live like we’re loved and act like we are free, because we are!! Jesus you are my number one, you are the only one and we will shout your praises forever! Jesus let your spirit be known in our churches today and let hearts be changed by your gracious love. We commit our lives to you again, please heal any wounds and make us whole with your love. Jesus let your will be done!
Amen

God Bless you all! If any one is struggling with your faith, we would love to chat but we also encourage you to see a pastor or speak with some friends that are Christians. God loves you so much and He has great plans for you, let no sickness or loss get in the way of that. So once again, God Bless!

The Faith Filled Friends

8 thoughts on “Losing- HARD LOVE

  1. Hey Everyone,

    I really hope you enjoy the devotion and the music! I really like these songs and artists. This is a very raw and honest devotion but God has put it on my heart. I hope you like the changes to the Sunday Sessions!

    God Bless

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just for fun-
    If you don’t know much about Tenth Avenue North, I challenge you to guess who was singing in the song, this is before the 1 minute mark!
    You have probably finished by now but who did you think

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It is a very raw and honest devotion Gad, but they are necessary sometimes. As you’ve said before… we can;t just ignore the difficulties of life because when they do come into our lives, how else will we know how to face them?

    Life is not always easy, even more so as a Christian. The difference is that we always have Jesus watching over us. He is always for us. No matter what we face, His love for us will remain!

    I heard this passage in the sermon at church this morning and it really stuck out for me; Romans 8:38-39-
    For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.