Today’s devotion- ‘Strong Enough’

 

Good morning everyone and welcome to Faith Filled Friends for another daily music devotion! Today’s devotion is from Josh, my first devotion for this site. I am so excited to see how God will work through this message today. It is a privilege to be able to write this devotion and to be able to encourage all of us in our daily walk with the Lord. I encourage you to listen to the song as you read the message.

Today’s devotion is based on “Strong Enough” by Matthew West. He is one of my favourite artists. Released in 2010 as apart of Matthew’s ‘The story of Your Life’ Album. It is a wonderful song that talks about how Jesus gives us the strength to face the hardships of life. We have been following a theme over the past few days here at The Faith Filled Friends. We have been basing our devotions off Jeremiah 29:11. They have also been focusing on trusting in Jesus, whatever situation we find ourselves in. Today is the beginning of our Semester Two exams for year 12. My friends and I are feeling slightly anxious, as is expected. However we know that we have a hope that is greater than anything in this life. With Jesus at our side, we know we don’t need to go into these exams full of fear, but rather full of confidence in Jesus that he will provide our every need and fight for us.

I encourage you to always remember this. Jesus is on your side; he is for you and not against you, no matter the situation you may be facing. Whether it is school exams or something else.

Let’s get into today’s devotion.

While preparing for today’s devotion, I was reminded of this scripture that relates well to today’s song. In 2 Corinthians 12:9 it says; But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”.

Each day, we face so many struggles and hardships that are bigger than us. We can often find them overwhelming, to the extent where they begin to dominate us. When we allow this to happen, we are letting our fears and struggles become greater than God. May we remember that God’s grace is sufficient, it provides all we need. When we are weakened and dominated by the difficulties life throws at us, may we remember that God is strongest when we are at our weakest. God’s power shines through and puts us back our feet again when we feel like we are not strong enough.

The title of this Matthew West song “Strong Enough”, reminds us of the fact that we don’t have to be strong enough when we are faced with challenges and hardships of this life. We try to rely on our own strength. As brothers and sisters in Christ, in these moments, we need to look to God and know that he IS strong enough. Look to the cross and remember that Jesus was strong enough to pay the punishment for our sins, the price we should have payed. How much more is he able to be our strength when we face trials of all sorts in this life.

Early on in the lyrics it says; ‘Forgive me if I’m wrong but it looks like more than I can do on my own’. We should never be ashamed to call on the name of Jesus for our strength. May we take pride in leaning on His name. It shows we need him and depend on him for everything. He promises to help us and never to forsake us, whatever we are facing.

In the chorus it says; ‘I’m not strong enough, hands of mercy won’t you cover me, Lord right now I’m asking you to be strong enough’. This seems almost to be a plea to God, recognising that we ourselves do not have the strength to face these hardships on our own. It is a call for the mercy of God to protect us. When we ask the Lord for strength, we can be certain that he will give us what we need.

Call out to God in whatever situation you are in and he will listen. He will comfort you with his amazing grace and give you the strength to face your fear and struggles head on.

So many people only look to God as a last resort, when everything else has run out. As Christians, may we not get to the point of looking to God when all our resources have run out. May he be our first point of contact. But when we do find ourselves in these dark places, where the light is fading, we know that all we have to do is look to God and he will be waiting to pull us up with open arms. Consider these lyrics; ‘Finally at rock bottom well, that’s when I start looking up and reaching out’.

The amazing hope and joy we have in God is that when all else fails, God never does. He is always constant and never lets us down. The things of this world are temporary and ultimately do not give us anything to hold onto. But God is our sure foundation that will never fade away. He will be our source of strength no matter what! The lyrics in the third last verse say this; ‘Cause I’m broken, down to nothing, but I’m still holding onto the one thing. You are God and you are strong when I am weak’.

I really love the way Matthew West ends the song, quoting Philippians 4:13; “I can do all things who Christ who gives me strength”. What an incredible reminder this is just before the final chorus, about how nothing is impossible with God. After all, he is God of the Universe, what could ever be impossible for God? We are just human, we have limitations. Whatever we face in our daily lives, we must always commit it to God who will give us the strength that only comes from him to face these difficulties.

I hope and pray that today’s devotion has been both a blessing and encouragement to you. I know that I have been encouraged by the words of this song and by the word of God as I have written this devotion.

We do not have to be concerned that we are not strong enough to face many of the situations that challenge us in our daily lives. Just know that God IS strong enough and that he will help us conquer it! Commit your daily struggles to our Heavenly Father and be reminded of Jesus’ strength shown on the cross, where he defeated our sins, once and for all.

His power is made perfect in weakness, may he give us the strength to face to today, whatever comes our way.

Amen.

Josh Clarke, The Faith Filled Friends.

12 thoughts on “Today’s devotion- ‘Strong Enough’

  1. Josh (Clarkie),
    This is an amazing devotion! I wish I could have seen it before the exam but I am still super encouraged! Every time I read what you write I feel like I am reading some professional work! You are a God fearing man and you know the scriptures so well! I feel so encouraged knowing that their are people like you living life to Gods plan and not your own! You are an amazing friend and an amazing example to every Christian out there!
    I am so blessed to have friends like you, Jono and Caitlin. You guys love God and live like you have Jesus flowing through your veins!
    Josh this is, in my opinion, the most real and heart spoken devotion we have had so far! I know my pride sometimes gets in the way! Even if we think we can do it, Jesus has already beaten life on Nightmare Mode! We are doing it on Easy, so just call out!
    And what really struck a chord with me was ‘…Jesus was strong enough to pay the punishment for our sins, the price we should have payed…’ That is so true. No challenge is to hard for God! Like you said, he is the God of the Impossible, and here we are… he’s in us!

    Josh, don’t be surprised if you end up doing most of the devotions okay! ;D
    Thanks for encouraging me so much!

    Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you Gad! I am very humbled by your kind words!

    It is so great to be able to combine my love of Jesus with my love of writing and communication.

    Similarly, I am blessed to have friends like yourself, Jono and Caitlin!

    You’re devotions are fantastic as well Gad! You have such an amazing passion and enthusiasm that is evident in your messages. That’s the great thing about having different people doing the messages, we can have so much variety with each person!

    Amen Gad! It is so important that we look to the cross to remember that Jesus defeated our sin and that he is stronger than anything that can ever come against us! May we never forget his grace!

    Oh thank you Gad! I still want to share them around but I will always be more than happy to write one whenever the need is there!

    The fact you have been encouraged is an encouragement to me!

    God Bless,

    Josh- The Faith Filled Friends

    Liked by 1 person

    • Josh it is my absolute pleasure!

      You are one of the most fluent writers I know! You really include the passion and the power in each word! It is so nice to read.

      I couldn’t agree with you more Josh! The variety is amazing. God has given us each a special passion and calling. When we have the honour of reading a wide range of messages from a wide range of people, God can really speak to us! He gives each individual a message to share, so it’s awesome! Can’t wait for more!

      Josh when ever you have a message or a devotion in your heart you go for it! It is not my role to tell everyone when to do a devotion but I have to keep charge and make sure devotions get done! So for future advice, if anyone has a devotion, anyone, just shot me an email or a message and say that God has a message to deliver. Then the devotion is all yours, well it’s always God’s but you know what I mean!

      God Bless and keep up the great work!

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks again Gad!

    Yes! That is so true. We can each use the gifts we have been blessed with to honour the Lord.

    I will keep that in mind. If I ever have a message that the Lord is telling me to share, I will let you know.

    But yes, you do a great job of managing this ministry. We need someone like yourself to keep everything in line!

    Yeah, I know what you mean 🙂 The devotion is God’s words through us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I only just say this comment now! I was just being inspired by your devotion once again Josh!
      But thank you so much for the great work you do and all the feedback! You are the first to give me feedback and help when I need!
      I am so grateful for all of you, my friends! I was inspired at youth last night and I have a great feeling for this website! It is small now but God uses small things! You are all so great and you all love God with all of your hearts, souls and all your strength! It inspires me everyday!

      Thanks for the compliment Josh but I am not the leader! I am a follower, I just follow Gods commands! When he says ‘Go’ I go, and when he says ‘Stay’ I will stay. He is my rock that I put all my strength and trust in! He has never let me done and I don’t think he will start now!

      But thanks for all the kind words.

      Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you once again Gad!

      I am so glad I can be of help for you. Always more than happy to give you assistance and feedback!

      God sure does use small things for his purposes. May his will be done!

      You are welcome Gad. You are right though, God is in charge and we must be obedient to his calling. He will never let us down! You are so right!

      Blessings

      Josh Clarke-The Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Josh! What an amazing devotion! I love how you mentioned that we should not look to God as a last resort, but to always put him first before anything else! Both you and Gad have done amazing devotions, and I can’t wait for Jono and I to do ours! Starting to pump out the ideas for mine 🙏🏼
    God bless you

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Caitlin!! That is so encouraging to hear!!

      I am so glad that part stuck out for you! God should always be our first port of call when we are weak!

      I cannot wait for the devotions from yourself and Jono! I am sure God will work through you to reach others!

      God Bless you too😊

      Liked by 2 people

    • You aren’t the only one excited for your devotions! Josh and I are super pumped to hear what you guys have to say!
      I am so excited! Keep up the good work everyone!

      May God Bless you and Keep you!

      Gad Rasmussen the Faith Filled Friends

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.