Throwback Thursday Special

Where I Belong

Hey Faithful Followers, the team here at The Faith Filled Friends have been working hard to deliver daily devotions and today I thought it would be nice to surprise everyone! This surprise is another devotion for you all. I have had this devotion on my heart for a while but I couldn’t wait another week to deliver it! This is part of our Throwback Thursday devotion because this is quite an old song now. This is a Faith Filled Friends devotion and this is “Where I Belong” the 2011 Building 429 smash hit!

God please speak your words and your promises through me. You have great plans for all of us and I pray you revival yourself to these people. God I believe you have given me this great song to inspire hope to rise in people’s lives. God you hold everything and I pray for anyone suffering with loss and sickness. Jesus you are the healer of our wounds, so I pray for healing in lives today. May your healing power flow and I pray for cancer to go, depression to disappear, broken hearts to be restored and faith to grow. Help these to not be my words but yours. Jesus I give you my everything. Take this world and give me Jesus. Amen. Okay, let’s jump into this!

Throwback Thursday

“Where I Belong” by Building 429 is such an anointed song. It brings such peace with every word and every note. It holds a special place in my heart, being a song on my first ever CD. It is one of my favourite Building 429 songs of all times, which is saying a lot since they are one of my favourite bands! Top five, no choice. Please get comfortable and I encourage you to not harden your heart, grab your bible, a note pad and pen and let God speak to you.

Where I Belong- Building 429

‘All I know is I’m not home yet- This is not where I belong. . .’ The song sings about life on Earth and reminds us of the hope Jesus promised for us. This life here on Earth is not all we have and this is not our home. As Christians we know that this is a temporary place with an eternity with the God of the universe to follow! We get to live life on Earth looking out for other rather than living selfishly! We have more to come but millions don’t! We are the light to the lost and the broken in this world. They don’t have a hope set in eternity and we are here on Earth for almost no time at all, we have to show them the love of God and show them that Jesus has set them free for sin and fear.

Living this life is not easy, in fact it can be really hard. This song gives us hope ‘. . . So when the walls come falling down on me. . . And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea. . . I have this blessed assurance holding me. . .’ This verse can speak to us if we let God use it. Life is not sunshine and rainbows, life can smack you really hard sometimes. As we reach the end of the year it is clear that those exams are approaching pretty fast! We can stress out and worry but that won’t get us anywhere (If you are worried please check our previous posts!). We live in a sinful world, this separates us from Gods perfect life and love. This is why we face challenges and hard times, and sorry for being the one that has to deliver the inconvenient truth, but it is often when we are feeling highest, when everything is going right. People get sick, good people, God loving and fearing people, but that is life. We must remember we ‘. . . have this blessed assurance holding me. . .’ which is Gods grace. He is always holding onto us and will never leave us. This is the love of Christ.

Lastly I want to encourage us to be unashamed of Christ! ‘. . . When the earth shakes I wanna be found in You. . . When the lights fade I wanna be found in You. . .’ We need to remember that what ever comes our way, fire or pouring rain, the people who shut you down, we have to stand strong in Jesus! Keep him as your rock and fortress, he won’t let you down! Stand fearlessly and stand boldly because all we need is Jesus and the only thing that matters is Jesus! Romans 1:16- For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile. Stand up for Jesus and he will stand up and love for you! He is fighting our Battles!

May this message bless you and may the Lord shine through you! Be encouraged and remember we find our hope in Jesus!

God Bless

The Faith Filled Friends (Gad Rasmussen- it is a surprise!)

10 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday Special

  1. Hey guys I hope you all enjoy this devotion! I had my heart set on this devotion but I really wanted to do the A to J devotion for Throwback Thursday to shake it up and keep it interesting! But I really couldn’t wait a week to do this song, so I made some notes and in my spare time today I put it together!
    God Bless you all

    Liked by 2 people

      • Well said Caitlin!
        I really felt an urge to talk about being Unashamed! I woke up and the first song I listened to was “Unashamed” and the verse of the day- Romans 1:16 for those who follow the YouVersion Bible app! So I think it is a message God is stirring up now!
        So I am excited!

        Thanks for the comment!
        God Bless

        Gad from The Faith Filled Friends

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.